logo
fr en
close post
5 July 2013

Alfredo Jaar, The politics of images

Alfredo Jaar seems like a made-to-measure guest for Arles. A large part of his work consists of questioning photography when it plays the role of a supposedly objective journalistic witness.


Through installations, screenings and the accumulation of documents which converge towards a message that the visitor progressively, often physically discovers, Alfredo Jaar overturns our possible certainties about the image’s truth, the press’s good intentions and the West’s point of view with regard to events.

His obsessions are those of a Chilean, strongly imbued with French culture, whose family was driven into exile by Chile’s dictatorship, and who now looks at the world from New York.

From the 1980s on, he has consciously wanted to be the artist that would bring the convulsions of the Southern Hemisphere back into contemporary art, which, in the 1980s, was more preoccupied with its self-narrative, and less and less turned towards the international solidarity that motivated it after the Second World War.

An architect, he masters space and leads visitors into brief performances in which they become actors. Jaar often catches us in the act of perceiving images in a way that is too superficial.


For the Rencontres, we wanted to bring together his most important pieces interacting with photography. They evoke the Chilean dictatorship, the American media’s relationship with Africa, the Rwandan genocide, the hunt for Ben Laden and Human Rights heroines.

A group this size of Alfredo Jaar’s works is a premiere in France and it fills the entire Église des Frères-Prêcheurs.

François Hébel

 

Exhibition venue: Église des Frères-Prêcheurs, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.

logo
fr en
close post
11 juillet 2013

Alfredo Jaar, La politique des images

Alfredo Jaar semble être un invité sur mesure pour Arles. Une grande partie de son travail consiste à interroger la photographie dans son rôle de témoin journalistique prétendument objectif.


A travers des installations, des projections, l’accumulation de documents qui convergent vers un message que le visiteur découvre progressivement, physiquement souvent, Alfredo Jaar bouscule nos éventuelles certitudes sur la vérité de l’image, les bonnes intentions de la presse, le point de vue occidental sur les événements.

Ses obsessions sont celles d’un Chilien, fortement imprégné de culture française, dont la famille a été poussée à l’exil par la dictature, et qui regarde désormais le monde depuis New York.


Dès les années 80 il a très consciemment voulu être l’artiste qui ramènerait les convulsions de l’hémisphère sud au centre de l’art contemporain, alors plus préoccupé par son auto-narration et de moins en moins tourné vers la solidarité internationale qui avait animé les années d’après guerre.

Architecte, il maitrise l’espace et entraine le visiteur dans de brèves performances dont il devient acteur. Alfredo Jaar nous piège souvent dans un flagrant délit de perception trop superficielle des images.


Pour les Rencontres nous avons voulu rassembler les pièces les plus importantes dialoguant avec la photographie. Elles évoquent la dictature chilienne, le rapport de la presse américaine à l’Afrique, le génocide rwandais, la traque de Ben Laden, des héroïnes des Droits de l’homme.

Un tel ensemble d’oeuvres d’Alfredo Jaar est une première en France et elle occupe toute la chapelle des frères Prêcheurs.

 

François Hébel

 

Exposition présentée à l’église des Frères-Prêcheurs, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.