logo
fr en
close post
27 August 2012

Arnaud Claass, The Book of Translations*

This exhibition brings together images from different periods of Arnaud Claass’s oeuvre. The relatively few works are displayed according to affinities rather than chronologically. There are photographs of American big cities in the 1970s and in 1990; others from colour sets from the year 2000; items from his ‘landscape’ period; from his phase exploring feelings; and from his two series on delicate objects and mineral formations. Whether they are themed or given over to a host of different subjects, these sets are evidence of his quest for a unity of vision.


His current work is also on display. These images are captured, as always, in the flow of everyday life but they are often coupled with added visual elements taken, for example, from newspapers, which produces effects somewhere between vision and reading. His name for this current phase provides the title for the show. Le Livre des traductions (The Book of Translations) not only refers to the importance Claass attaches to books, it also refers to his conception of the discipline of photography: what the photographer does is seen as a constant translating of a certain reality (the immediate and fluctuating reality of appearances) into that other, photographic, reality capable of restoring by its literalness the enigmatic nature of the most apparently obvious things. This idea lies behind the title of the new set of texts that Claass has recently published, Le Réel de la photographie (The Reality of Photography).


Claass’s view is that the question of whether photography is an ‘art’ is, in the final analysis, secondary if not inhibiting. He views photography as a form of philosophy in action. The assertion of a kind of presence in the world, and being permanently open to anything that might come into view at any moment, are the key principles.

 
* The Book of Translations : le livre des traductions


Exhibition venue: Magasin Electrique, parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
27 août 2012

Arnaud Claass, Le livre des traductions

Cette exposition réunit des images extraites des diverses périodes de l’oeuvre d’Arnaud Claass. En nombre assez restreint, elles n’y sont pas montrées chronologiquement mais selon un jeu d’affinités. S’y rencontrent des photographies des grandes villes américaines des années 1970 puis 1990, d’autres tirées des ensembles en couleur des années 2000, des éléments extraits de sa période « paysage », de sa phase intimiste, de ses objets précaires, ses formations minérales. Qu’ils soient thématiques ou offerts à une multiplicité de sujets, ces ensembles signent d’abord la quête d’une unité de vision.


Une place est également offerte à son travail en cours : les images sont prises, comme toujours, dans le flux du quotidien mais elles rencontrent souvent des éléments visuels rapportés, prélevés par exemple dans des journaux papier, produisant des effets à mi-chemin de la vision et de la lecture. L’intitulé de cette phase actuelle donne son titre à l’accrochage. Le Livre des traductions ne renvoie pas seulement à l’importance accordée par le photographe au livre. Il fait aussi allusion à sa conception de sa discipline : la conduite photographique y est vue comme l’activité constante de traduction d’un certain réel (celui, immédiat et changeant, des apparences) en un autre réel (celui de la photographie, qui peut restituer, par sa littéralité même, le caractère énigmatique des choses les plus évidentes). D’où le titre du nouvel ensemble de textes qu’il vient de publier par ailleurs, Le Réel de la photographie.


Selon Arnaud Claass, la question de savoir si la photographie est un « art » est, somme toute secondaire sinon même encombrante. Elle est pour lui une forme de philosophie en acte. L’affirmation d’une présence au monde et la disponibilité permanente à ce qui peut à tout moment y advenir au regard sont les maîtres mots


Exposition présentée au Magasin Electrique, parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.