logo
fr en

ATWOOD, Jane Evelyn

PORTRAIT-ATWOODBorn in New York, United States.

Lives in Paris since 1971.


She is one of the leading photographers on the international scene. Her work reflects a deep involvement with her subjects over long periods of time. Fascinated by people and by the idea of exclusion, she has successfully penetrated worlds that most of us do not know or choose to ignore.

She has authored nine books: Dialogues de Nuit (Éditions Jean-Jacques Pauvert/Ramsay) and Nächtlicher Alltag (Mahnert-Lueg Verlag) in 1981, both devoted to Parisian prostitutes; Légionnaires (Éditions Hologramme-1986); Extérieur nuit, about blind people (Éditions Actes Sud, Photo Poche Société-1998); and Trop de Peines, femmes en prison (Éditions Albin Michel) published in English as Too Much Time, women in prison (Phaidon Press), the result of 10 years’ work on female incarceration around the world. Sentinelles de l’ombre (Éditions du Seuil, 2004) was the culmination of four years’ work on landmine victims in Cambodia, Mozambique, Angola, Kosovo and Afghanistan. À Contre Coups, published in 2006 (Éditions Xavier Barral), was followed by Haïti (Actes Sud) in 2008.

Jane Evelyn Atwood’s work is held in many public and private collections and has garnered the most prestigious international awards: the first-ever award given by the W. Eugene Smith Foundation in 1980; the World Press Photo Foundation Award in Amsterdam in 1987; the Grand Prix Paris Match du Photojournalisme; the Grand Prix du Portfolio de la SCAM; Leica’s Oskar Barnack Award in 1997; and the Alfred Eisenstaedt Award in 1998.



Jane Evelyn Atwood presented her work at the Rencontres d’Arles in 2008: Haïti, Jane Evelyn Atwood in Arles.

logo
fr en

ATWOOD, Jane Evelyn

PORTRAIT-ATWOODNée à New York, États-Unis, en 1947.

Vit en France depuis 1971.


Jane Evelyn Atwood figure parmi les principaux photographes de la scène internationale. Son oeuvre traduit une profonde intimité avec ses sujets pendant de longues périodes. Fascinée par les gens et par la notion d’exclusion, elle a réussi à pénétrer des mondes que la plupart d’entre nous ignore ou décide d’ignorer.

Elle est l’auteur de neuf livres, Dialogues de Nuit (Éditions Jean-Jacques Pauvert/Ramsay) et Nächtlicher Alltag (Mahnert-Lueg Verlag) en 1981, tous deux consacrés aux prostituées de Paris; Légionnaires (Éditions Hologramme-1986); Extérieur Nuit, sur les aveugles (Éditions Actes Sud, Photo Poche Société-1998); et Trop de Peines, femmes en prison (Éditions Albin Michel) ainsi que Too Much Time, women in prison (Éditions Phaidon Press Ltd.) résultat de dix années de travail sur l’incarcération féminine dans le monde. Sentinelles de l’ombre (Éditions du Seuil, 2004) est l’aboutissement d’un travail de quatre ans au Cambodge, en Mozambique, en Angola, au Kosovo et en Afghanistan, sur les mines antipersonnelles. À Contre Coups est publié en 2006 (Éditions Xavier Barral), et Haïti (Actes Sud), 2008.

L’oeuvre de Jane Evelyn Atwood été récompensée par des prix internationaux les plus prestigieux : la première bourse décernée par la Fondation W. Eugene Smith en 1980, le prix de la Fondation du World Press Photo d’Amsterdam en 1987, le Grand Prix Paris Match du Photojournalisme, le Grand Prix du Portfolio de la SCAM, le Prix Oskar Barnack/Leica Camera en 1997, ainsi que le Prix Alfred Eisenstadt en 1998.


Jane Evelyn Atwood a exposé aux  Rencontres d’Arles en 2008: Haïti, Jane Evelyn Atwood à Arles.