logo
fr en

BÉNÉZET, Jean-Marie

PORTRAIT-BENEZETBorn in 1954 in Gallician.

Lives in Le Cailar (France).


After working as a professional photographer from the late 1970’s to the mid-1980’s, in situations as diverse as ethnographic museums and weddings, Bénézet gave up the discipline for many years in order to devote himself to art: looking at and choosing works; designing and setting up exhibitions; and dealing with commissions.

This mix of questing, curiosity and concern left no room for personal practice. Perhaps a certain time has to pass before one dares to take the artistic plunge; here it happened almost in spite of Bénézet himself, when he bought the digital camera he needed for his work in an art centre.

Taking the camera with him on his travels and occasionally on his daily walks, he was surprised to catch himself photographing whatever caught his eye – and to find that the results made up an oeuvre. His first exhibition came at the suggestion of painter Christian Astor in the spring of 2007.


Jean-Marie Bénézet presented his work at the Rencontres d’Arles in 2008: ” I Can’t Paint ! “

logo
fr en

BÉNÉZET, Jean-Marie

PORTRAIT-BENEZETNé en 1954 à Gallician.

Vit au Cailar, France.


Après avoir pratiqué la photographie en tant que professionnel de la fin des années 1970 au milieu des années 1980 pour des applications allant du musée ethnologique aux photographies de mariage, Jean-Marie Bénézet abandonne la photographie pendant une longue période où il s’occupe d’art.

Voir, choisir et concevoir, installer des expositions, des commandes artistiques. Cette quête, cette curiosité, cette préoccupation ne laissent pas de place à une expérience artistique personnelle. Il y a peut-être aussi un temps nécessaire avant d’oser le geste artistique. Ici ce geste est arrivé presque malgré lui, avec l’achat d’un appareil numérique nécessaire aux activités d’un centre d’art.

L’appareil photo emporté lors de quelques voyages et, à l’occasion, lors de promenades quotidiennes, il se surprend à photographier ce qui arrête son regard, et qu’il regarde observe comme on contemple une œuvre. Au printemps 2007, un peintre, Christian Astor, lui propose d’exposer pour la première fois.


Jean-Marie Bénézet a exposé aux Rencontres d’Arles en 2008: « Je ne sais pas peindre ! »