logo
fr en

CARON, Gilles

PORTRAIT-CARONGilles Caron was born in Neuilly-sur-Seine, near Paris, on July 8, 1939.

He disappeared on the 5th of april, in Cambodia.

He joined the Parisian agency APIS in April 1965 and two years became one of the founders of the Gamma agency with his friend Raymond Depardon and others. During the Six-Day War in June 1967, he made himself and his agency famous by scooping the international press corps with his photographs of victorious Israeli soldiers at Jerusalem’s Wailing Wall, among them Moshe Dayan and Yitzhak Rabin. Only a few months later he was in Vietnam for the bloody battle of Hill 875 at Dak To.

In 1968, he divided his time between France and Nigeria, recording the war in the secessionist southeastern province of Biafra and the resulting famine, as well as the May student revolution in Paris. He also followed French president Charles de Gaulle on official visits to Romania and Turkey. In August 1969, he traveled to Northern Ireland to document the riots that led to the deployment of British troops and the beginning of “the troubles.” He then went to Prague to cover the first anniversary of the Soviet invasion of Czechoslovakia.

In February 1970, he left for Northern Chad with Raymond Depardon and Robert Pledge to investigate the turmoil in the Tibesti where the Toubous were in open rebellion against the French-backed government. Caught in an ambush, they were imprisoned for a month by government forces. Shortly after his return, Gilles Caron headed for Cambodia where he went missing on April 5, 1970, in Khmer Rouge-controlled territory.

He was thirty years old. His work has been featured in Sous les pavés, la plage (Les Editions La Sirène, Paris), and in 1998’s Photo Poche collection (Editions Nathan, Paris).

Since 1991, his archive has been distributed through Contact Press Images.


Gilles Caron’s work was presented at the Rencontres d’Arles in 2006: Chant / Contrechant : 1967-1970″

logo
fr en

CARON, Gilles

PORTRAIT-CARONNé à Neuilly-sur-Seine le 8 juillet 1939.

Disparu le 5 avril 1970 au Cambodge.


Il rejoint l’agence Apis en avril 1965 et devient deux ans plus tard l’un des cinq co-fondateurs de l’agence Gamma avec Raymond Depardon. Pendant la Guerre des Six Jours en juin 1967, ses images des troupes israéliennes, menées par les généraux Moshé Dayan et Yitzhak Rabin, devant le Mur des Lamentations à Jérusalem, assurent la célébrité de l’agence Gamma et la sienne. Quelques mois plus tard, il couvre la sanglante bataille de Dak To sur la colline 875 au Vietnam.

En 1968, il partage son temps entre la France et le Nigeria où il couvre la guerre de sécession de la province du Biafra au sud-est du pays et la famille qui en résulte ainsi que la révolte étudiante de mai à Paris. Il suit cette même année les déplacements du président Charles de Gaulle en Roumanie et en Turquie. En août 1969, il se rend en Irlande du Nord pour suivre les les émeutes et le déploiement des troupes britanniques au début des Troubles. Il est ensuite à Prague au moment du premier anniversaire de l’invasion soviétique en Tchécoslovaquie.

En février 1970, avec Raymond Depardon et Robert Pledge, il part pour le Tchad pour un reportage dans la région du Tibesti où les Toubous sont en rébellion contre le pouvoir central soutenu par la France. Tombés dans une embuscade, ils sont retenus prisonniers un mois par les forces gouvernementales. Peu après son retour en France, il se rend au Cambodge où il disparaît le 5 avril 1970, dans une région contrôlée par les Khmers rouges. Il a trente ans.

Ses photographies ont paru notamment dans Sous les pavés, la plage aux éditions La Sirène, en 1998 dans le numéro 73 de la collection Photo Poche (Nathan/Actes Sud, Paris) et en mai 2006 dans un recueil Pour la liberté de la presse, édité par Reporters Sans Frontières.

Depuis 1991, son travail est diffusé par l’agence Contact Press Images.


Gilles Caron a été exposé aux Rencontres d’Arles avec Don McCullin en 2012: « Chant / Contrechant : 1967-1970 »