logo
fr en

DALLAPORTA, Raphaël

Raphaël DallaportaBorn in France in 1980.

Raphaël Dallaporta has made himself a reputation for his scrupulous methodology and his commitment to documentary.

Putting “neutral” images side by side with texts on human violence, he triggers awareness of contemporary situations that often pass unnoticed. In his personal projects the dignity of victims is a key concern.

His work has been shown a few times at the Rencontres: in 2004 Antipersonnel was selected by Martin Parr and went on to become a monograph; in 2006 Raymond Depardon chose Esclavage domestique (Domestic Slavery) for the festival’s Politics and Society section. Two years later, Fragile featured at the New York Photo festival and in 2011, nominated by Sam Stourdzé for the Discovery Award of the Rencontres d’Arles: Ruins (Season 1).

He also took part in some collective exhibitions: Madame la Présidente in 2007; France 14 in 2010 and Transition, Social landscapes in 2013.


A winner of the International Center for Photography’s Infinity Award, Dallaporta has works in the collections of the FNAC chain, the Maison Européenne de Photographie in Paris and the Elysée Museum. He is currently working on the project Ruine(Ruin) in Afghanistan and his next exhibition is scheduled for September 2011 at Foam in Amsterdam.

logo
fr en

DALLAPORTA, Raphaël

Raphaël DallaportaNé en 1980 en France.


Dallaporta a développé une démarche photographique remarquée pour la rigueur de ses protocoles de prises de vue et sa conviction documentaire.

Par des images en apparence « neutres » confrontées à des textes témoignant de la violence humaine, il provoque une prise de conscience sur des situations contemporaines souvent cachées. Dans ses projets personnels, il veille à préserver la dignité des victimes.

Son travail est présenté plusieurs fois aux Rencontres d’Arles : en 2004, par Martin Parr avec Antipersonnel, qui fera ensuite l’objet d’une monographie; en 2006, quand Raymond Depardon choisit son projet Esclavage domestique pour la section « Politique et société » et en 2011 où Raphaël Dallaporta a été nominé par Sam Stourdzé pour le Prix Découverte des Rencontres, avec Ruine (Saison 1).

Raphaël Dallaporta a aussi participé aux expositions collectives suivantes, toujours aux Rencontres d’Arles: Madame la Présidente en 2007;  France 14 en 2010 et Transition, Paysages d’une société en 2013.

Deux ans plus tard,Fragile est présenté au New York Photo Festival. Lauréat de l’« Infinity Award » de l’ICP, il est présent dans les collections de la Fnac, de la MEP et du musée de l’Élysée. Tandis qu’il travaille actuellement pour son dernier projet, Ruine, dans le nord de l’Afghanistan, sa prochaine exposition aura lieu en septembre 2011 au Foam d’Amsterdam.