logo
fr en

DE GOUVION SAINT-CYR, Agnès

PORTRAIT-GOUVION-ST-CYRBorn in 1945. Lives and works in Paris. 


Agnès de Gouvion Saint-Cyr soon seized an opportunity to work with photography’s crème de la crème, collaborating with the Festival d’Arles in 1969 and then, together with Lucien Clergue, Michel Tournier and Jean-Maurice Rouquette, founding the Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie.

In 1976 she joined the Ministry of Culture, where she was tasked with devising a policy for photography; she became curator of the contemporary photography collections at the National Collection of Contemporary Art (FNAC) in 1989.

Her work has led her to organise many exhibitions in France and abroad. The most noteworthy include: Paris Magnum at the Musée du Luxembourg; Man Ray, a travelling exhibition in Italy in 1989; De Brancusi à Boltanski at the Museums of Contemporary Art in Turin and Athens, in 1993; Dix ans d’acquisition at the Musée National d’Art Moderne in Paris, in 1996… More recently, she has produced the exhibitions Jeux et simulacres in Madrid; Histoire de modes at the Petit Manège in Moscow; and, nearer to the present day, Dans le champ des étoiles at the Musée d’Orsay, which enjoyed great success. Les Métamorphoses du modèle was staged in Moscow in 2001 and then in Seoul, South Korea, in 2002.

Agnès de Gouvion Saint-Cyr has produced numerous public commissions, such as Françoise Huguier’s Regards sur l’Afrique fantôme (1989), which has since been regularly requested; Les voyages parallèles by Alain Fleischer at Juvisy rail station, near Paris; Les banlieues, which brought together Yan Morvan, Jane Atwood, Marc Pataut and Louis Jammes; and, latterly, La jeunesse en l’an 2000, for which 40 photographers from France and elsewhere produced a collection of images representative of young French people today. In 2008 she initiated Mosaïque, a commission of photography about cultural diversity.

She has authored many monographs including ones on Izis, Doisneau, Cecavicius and Shoji Ueda; and catalogues (Art or Nature, De Brancusi à Boltanski, Dans le champ des étoiles). In addition, she is a member of many juries and bodies in the field of photography.



Agnès de Gouvion Saint-Cyr was a curator for the Rencontres d’Arles in 2007 for the exhibitions: Walter Roil’s Patagonia and in 2008 for the exhibition Variations on the model. She has nominated Raed Bawayah 2009 Discovery Award of the Rencontres d’Arles.

logo
fr en

DE GOUVION SAINT-CYR, Agnès

PORTRAIT-GOUVION-ST-CYRNée en 1945. Vit et travaille à Paris.



Agnès de Gouvion Saint-Cyr saisit très vite l’opportunité qui s’offre à elle de travailler dans le sérail de la photographie et collabore au festival d’Arles en 1969 et fonde avec Lucien Clergue, M. Tournier et J.M. Rouquette, les Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie.

Engagée au Ministère de la Culture en 1976 où elle est chargée d’élaborer les grandes lignes d’une politique en faveur de la photographie, elle devient Conservateur des collections photographiques contemporaines du Fonds national d’art contemporain en 1989.

Ses fonctions l’amènent à organiser de nombreuses expositions en France et à l’étranger ; parmi celles-ci, on peut citer Paris Magnum au Musée du Luxembourg ; en 1989, Man Ray, exposition itinérante en   Italie ; en 1993,  De Brancusi à Boltanski au musée d’art contemporain de Turin et d’Athènes… Plus récemment, elle a proposé les expositions Jeux et simulacres à Madrid, Histoire de modes au Petit Manège à Moscou et dernièrement Dans le champ des étoiles au musée d’Orsay qui a connu un vif succès. Les Métamorphoses du modèle a été successivement présentée à Moscou en 2001 et à Séoul en Corée en 2002.

Agnès de Gouvion Saint-Cyr a assuré la réalisation de nombreuses commandes publiques comme en 1989, Regards sur l’Afrique fantôme de Françoise Huguier qui a été maintes fois sollicitée, Les voyages parallèles d’Alain Fleischer à la gare de Juvisy, Les banlieues qui réunissaient Yan Morvan, Jane Atwood, Marc Pataut, Louis Jammes, et dernièrement,  La jeunesse en l’an 2000 où une  quarantaine de photographes français ou étrangers ont réalisé un ensemble d’images représentatif  des jeunes français d’aujourd’hui. En 2008, Mosaïque, commande photographique sur la diversité culturelle a été initiée.

Auteur de nombreuses monographies dont celles relatives à Izis, Doisneau, Cecavicius, Shoji Ueda ou catalogues (Art or Nature, De Brancusi à Boltanski, Dans le champ des étoiles), elle participe, en outre, à de nombreux jurys ou instances dans le domaine photographique.


Agnès de Gouvion Saint-Cyr a été commissaire pour les Rencontres d’Arles en 2007 pour l’exposition La Patagonie de Walter Roil et en 2008 pour l’exposition Variations sur le modèle. Elle a nominé Raed Bawayah pour le Prix Découverte des Rencontres d’Arles 2009.