logo
fr en

DESVERGNES, Alain

PORTRAIT_DESVERGNESBorn in 1931 in the Périgord. 

Lives and works in Brittany.


After studies in Journalism and Sociology, Alain Desvergnes, ex-reporter and art critic, lived in North America for 19 years. He worked there from 1963 to 1965, as an assistant professor at the University of Mississippi, working on Faulkner, (Yoknapatawpha, Marval, 1989), then in 1966, at the University of Ottawa, where he created the Department of Visual Arts, and in 1975 as a professor in the department of Social Communications at the Saint Paul University.

He returned to France in 1979 to become director of the Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie d’Arles, where he remained until 1982 when, at the request of the French Ministry of Culture, he created the École Nationale de la Photographie at Arles. He remained in this post for 16 years.

He has exhibited in many European and American museums and galleries. His photographs are in the collections of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France; the Maison Européenne de la Photographie; the Center for Southern Studies, Mississippi; and the Canadian National Film Board.



Alain Desvergnes presented his work at the Rencontres d’Arles in 2012, with his series Landscapes as Portraits / Portraits as Landscapes at the Atelier de Mécanique. In 2009, he nominated the photographer Laurent Millet for the Discovery Award of the Rencontres d’Arles.

logo
fr en

DESVERGNES, Alain

PORTRAIT_DESVERGNESNé en 1931 au Périgord en 1931. 

Vit et travaille en Bretagne.


Après des études de journalisme et de sociologie, Alain Desvergnes, ancien reporter et critique d’art a vécu 19 ans en Amérique du Nord. Il y a travaillé en 1963-1965 comme maître de conférence à l’université du Mississippi pour travailler sur Faulkner, (Yoknapatawpha, Marval, 1989) puis en 1966 comme professeur associé à l’université d’Ottawa où il crée le département d’Arts visuels et en 1975 comme professeur agrégé à l’université Saint Paul, département des communications sociales.

En 1979 il rentre en France pour prendre la direction des Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie d’Arles jusqu’en 1982 où, à la demande du ministère de la Culture, il crée l’École nationale de la photographie d’Arles qu’il a dirigée pendant 16 ans.

Il a exposé dans de nombreux musées et galeries européennes et américaines. Ses photographies font partie de la collection de la Bibliothèque nationale de France, de la Maison européenne de la photographie, du Center for Southern Studies, Mississippi et du Canadian National Film Board.


Alain Desvergnes a exposé aux Rencontres d’Arles en 2012, avec sa série Paysages en tant que portraits / Portraits en tant que paysages à l’Atelier de Mécanique. En 2009, il a nominé le photographe Laurent Millet pour les Prix des Rencontres d’Arles.