logo
fr en

FLEETWOOD, John

PORTRAIT_FLEETWOOD2Born in 1970 in Johannesburg.

Lives and works in Johannesburg.


John Fleetwood is the Head of the Market Photo Workshop, a school and gallery for photography. The Photo Workshop, founded by David Goldblatt in 1989, runs courses and multi-layered development programs that respond to the complex conditions of South African education, culture, and identity. Fleetwood guides both the educational and artistic frameworks of the place.

During his ten year tenure at the Photo Workshop, he initiated The Photo Workshop gallery, one of few photography dedicated galleries in South Africa; the Photojournalism Documentary Photography Programme, the sole photojournalism training programme of this nature on the African continent; as well as various mentorship programmes for developing photographers, including the Edward Ruiz Mentorship, the longest established photography mentorship on the continent.

John Fleetwood’s interests are predominantly in the developing mode of documentary photography and the possibilities for photography in the aesthetics of advocacy. He is interested in how the ordinary is transformed by specific conditions and determined by the intricacies of context.



John Fleetwood was nominator for the Discovery Award of the Rencontres d’Arles 2012. He nominated the following artists: Hasan & Husain Essop; and Sammy Baloji


In 2013, John Fleetwood took part in the collective exhibition Transition, Social Landscapes at the Atelier de Mécanique.

logo
fr en

FLEETWOOD, John

PORTRAIT_FLEETWOOD2Né en 1970 à Johannesbourg.

Vit et travaille à Johannesbourg.


John Fleetwood dirige le Market Photo Workshop, une école et une galerie d’exposition de photographie. Fondée par David Goldblatt en 1989, l’institution propose des cours ainsi que différents programmes de formation adaptés aux réalités complexes de l’éducation, de la culture et de l’identité en Afrique du Sud. John Fleetwood assure l’orientation pédagogique et artistique de l’établissement.

Au cours de ses dix années de service au Workshop, il a notamment initié The Photo Workshop gallery, une des rares galeries d’exposition dédiées à la photographie en Afrique du Sud ; le Photojournalism Documentary Photography Programme, l’unique cursus de formation en photojournalisme, de cette nature, sur le continent africain ; ainsi que de nombreux programmes de mentorat réservés aux photographes en voie de perfectionnement, dont le programme Edward Ruiz, le plus ancien sur le continent.

John Fleetwood s’intéresse surtout au développement de la photographie documentaire et aux débouchés pour la photographie militante. Il s’interroge aussi sur la manière dont l’ordinaire est transformé selon les circonstances, déterminé par les subtilités du contexte.


John Fleetwood a été nominateur pour le Prix Découverte des Rencontres d’Arles 2012. Il avait nominé les artistes suivant: Hasan et Husain Essop; et Sammy Baloji. En 2013, John Fleetwood a participé a l’exposition collective Transition, Paysages d’une société à l’Atelier de Mécanique.