logo
fr en

GISINGER, Arno

Arno GisingerBorn in 1964 in Austria.

Lives and works in Paris.


Arno Gisinger has developed a pluridisciplinary approach to his art over the last fifteen years, linking photography and historiography. After studies in History and German Philology at Innsbruck, he completed postgraduate work at ENSP in 1994. These joint studies led him to work on the links between memory, history, and photographic representations.

Inspired by German thought of the inter-war period and the methods of New History, his works challenge us to a contemporary re-reading of grounded and groundless memory. His work tests visual representations of the past through their different forms of transmission: witnesses, objects, and places. The function of archives, the status of documents, the words of witnesses are central to his concerns. Gisinger was artist-in-residence in London in 1995-1996, in Paris in 2004, and in Vietnam in 2007.

He teaches at the University of Paris 8, and at the Ecole Supérieure d’Art, Lorraine. Among his several publications are Konstellation Benjamin, Imagines Wars and Unsichtbare Stadt. He exhibits regularly and is currently preparing a retrospective for 2012-2013 with four exhibition venues in Germany, France, Austria, and Switzerland.


Arno Gisinger presented his work at the Rencontres d’Arles in 2012, with Monique Deregibus: Everything seems to have been said at the Grande Halle; with Anthony Haughey in 2009: Outrageous Reality at the Galerie Arena and in 2005, taking part in the collective exhibition One time or another for the 20 years of the ENSP at the abbaye de Montmajour.

logo
fr en

GISINGER, Arno

Arno GisingerNé en 1964 en Autriche.

Vit et travaille à Paris.


Arno Gisinger développe depuis quinze ans une pratique artistique pluridisciplinaire liant photographie et historiographie. Après des études d’histoire et de philologie allemande à Innsbruck, il sort de l’ENSP en 1994. Cette double formation l’amène à travailler sur les relations entre mémoire, histoire et représentations photographiques. Inspirés par la pensée allemande de l’entre­deux­guerres et les méthodes de la nouvelle histoire, ses projets proposent une relecture contemporaine des lieux et non-lieux de mémoire.

Son travail met à l’épreuve la représentation visuelle du passé à travers ses différentes formes de transmission : témoins, objets, lieux. La fonction de l’archive, le statut du document et la parole du témoin sont au coeur de ses préoccupations. Artiste en résidence à Londres en 1995-1996, à Paris en 2004 et au Vietnam en 2007, Gisinger enseigne à Paris 8 et à l’École supérieure d’art de Lorraine.

Il a publié plusieurs ouvrages, dont Konstellation Benjamin, Imagined Wars ou Unsichtbare Stadt, expose régulièrement et prépare pour 2012-2013 une rétrospective en collaboration avec quatre lieux d’exposition en Allemagne, en France, en Autriche et en Suisse.


Arno Gisinger a exposé aux Rencontres d’Arles en 2012, avec Monique Deregibus: Tout semble avoir été dit à la Grande Halle; avec Anthony Haughey en 2009: Scandaleux Réel à la Galerie Arena et en 2005, dans le cadre de l’exposition collective D’un moment à l’autre pour les vingt ans de l’ENSP, à l’abbaye de Montmajour.