logo
fr en

HEIMAN, Michal

PORTRAIT-HEIMANBorn in 1954 in Israel.

Lives and works in Tel Aviv.


After studying photography, painting and sculpture, Michal Heiman began working as a freelance press photographer and exhibiting her paintings and installations in Tel Aviv. In 1992 she became an exhibition curator for the Camera Obscura and Bograshov galleries in Tel Aviv. 

Two years later her interest in psychological testing led to the M.H.T (Michal Heiman Test) project. This was the basis for a number of installations, the first of which were shown in Australia and Tel Aviv.


In 1998 she began work on M.H.T 2. During the 1990s she contributed mainly to group exhibitions, both in Tel Aviv – notably an exhibition on the Hebron massacre – and abroad. Since 1997 she has been teaching art and art criticism in various Israeli universities and schools. In 2004 Michal Heiman completed her series Photo Rape.


Michal Heiman presented her work at the Rencontres d’Arles in 2005: Attacks on linking, at the Palais de l’Archevêché.

logo
fr en

HEIMAN, Michal

PORTRAIT-HEIMANNée en 1954 en Israël.

Vit et travaille à Tel Aviv.


Après des études de photographie, de peinture et de sculpture, elle débute en 1984 une carrière de photographe indépendante pour la presse. En parallèle, eIle réalise ses premières expositions de peintures et d’installations à Tel-Aviv. À de partir de 1992, elle effectue plusieurs commissariats d’expositions pour le compte de deux galeries, Camera Obscura et Bograshov à Tel-Aviv. 

Deux ans plus tard, elle commence à s’intéresser aux tests psychologiques. Elle forme alors un projet appelé M.H.T (Michal Heiman Test), à partir duquel elle créa des installations dont les premières seront exposées en Australie et à Tel-Aviv. 

En 1998, elle poursuit son idée et donne naissance au M.H.T 2. Entre temps, pendant les années 90, elle se concentre surtout sur des expositions collectives à Tel-Aviv, avec entre autres une exposition sur le massacre d’Hebron, mais aussi à l’étranger. À partir de 1997, elle enseigne l’art et la critique d’art dans différentes universités et écoles israéliennes. En 2004, Michal Heiman termine la série Photo Rape (« Photo Viol »).


Michal Heiman a exposé aux Rencontres d’Arles en 2005: Attaques des liens, au Palais de l’Archevêché.