logo
fr en

LE POINT DU JOUR

Le Point du JourDavid BARRIET, David BENASSAYAG & Béatrice DIDIER

Live and work in Cherbourg-Octeville and Paris.

In 1996, David Barriet, David Benassayag and Béatrice Didier started up Le Point du Jour, a publishing house specialising in photography, then in 1999, the Regional Photographic Centre at Cherbourg-Octeville, which has organised more than sixty exhibitions, projections, meetings and residencies. In 2008, they took over a building designed by Éric Lapierre (winner of a prestigious architectural award) and since then it has flourished in its twin roles as art centre and publisher. There have been exhibitions of Lynne Cohen, Mikaël Levin, Helen Levitt, Joachim Mogarra, Maxence Rifflet and Gilles Saussier. At the same time, there have been regular activities for the public. Every two years, Le Point du Jour administers an ‘artist-in-residence’ project, leading to an exhibition and a book, and the Prix Roland Barthes, an award for research in photography.

David Barriet was born in 1970 in the North of France. He has worked in journalism as a member of a photographic department and as an independent photographer. Until 2002, he also worked on projects of his own, with exhibitions at Pôle Image Haute-Normandie (Rouen) and at the Caen Arthothèque.

David Benassayag was born in 1970 in Paris. He studied literature at the Sorbonne University, before completing a master’s degree in publishing at the University of Paris XIII. He has worked as an editor and as a publisher’s assistant.

Béatrice Didier was born in 1964 in Paris. She has worked as a journalist and as the manager of theatre and dance companies. She holds a master’s degree in political science from the University of Grenoble-Stendhal.


David Barriet, David Benassayag and Béatrice Didier were nominators for the Discovery Award of the Rencontres d’Arles 2011. They nominated the following artists: Joachim Mogarra; Lynne Cohen and Rut Blees Luxemburg.

logo
fr en

LE POINT DU JOUR

Le Point du JourDavid BARRIET, David BENASSAYAG & Béatrice DIDIER

Vivent à Cherbourg-Octeville et à Paris.

En 1996, David Barriet, David Benassayag et Béatrice Didier créent Le Point du Jour, éditeur spécialisé en photographie, puis en 1999 le Centre régional de la photographie de Cherbourg-Octeville qui présente une soixantaine d’expositions associées à des projections, rencontres et résidences. Installé en 2008 dans un bâtiment conçu par Éric Lapierre (prix de la Première oeuvre 2003), Le Point du Jour Centre d’art / Éditeur est issu du rapprochement de ces deux structures. Ils y présentent les travaux de Lynne Cohen, Mikaël Levin, Helen Levitt, Joachim Mogarra, Maxence Rifflet et Gilles Saussier, accompagnées de livres et de diverses actions en direction du public. Tous les deux ans, Le Point du Jour organise une résidence d’artiste, suivie d’une exposition et d’un livre, ainsi que le prix Roland Barthes pour la recherche photographique, qui récompense le travail de jeunes universitaires.

David Barriet est né en 1970 dans la Manche. Il a travaillé pour la presse, au sein d’un service photographique et comme photographe indépendant. Il a également développé des projets personnels jusqu’en 2002, exposés notamment au Pôle Image Haute-Normandie (Rouen) et à l’Artothèque de Caen.

Né en 1970 à Paris, David Benassayag a suivi des études de lettres à l’université Paris IV-Sorbonne avant d’obtenir un master 2 édition à l’université Paris XIII-Nord. Il a travaillé comme rédacteur et assistant d’édition.

Béatrice Didier, née en 1964 à Paris, a été journaliste puis administratrice de compagnies de théâtre et de danse. Elle est titulaire d’un master 2 en sciences politiques (université Grenoble-Stendhal).


David Barriet, David Benassayag et Béatrice Didier ont été nominateurs pour le Prix Découverte des Rencontres d’Arles 2011. Ils ont nominé les artistes suivant: Joachim Mogarra; Lynne Cohen et Rut Blees Luxemburg.