logo
fr en

MEYER

PORTRAIT-MEYERBorn in Villeneuve-les-Avignon (France).

This child of the South trained on the job in the Paris area, as photographer to the municipality of Noisy-Le-Sec from 1991-1996. During the same period, he covered the tours of street theatre company Oposito and band Urban Sax for five years. From 1993-1995, he roved the first rave parties and especially Lunacy, an emblematic underground bash of the early rave years. This yielded a piece of black and white work, headlong and lost, the very image of these entranced nights.

In 1996, he joined the Tendance Floue collective, got involved in the group’s projects and worked for the press. From 1999-2001, he tracked the alter-globalist movements in Prague, Quebec and Genoa. In 2001-2002, he made three trips to the Palestinian Occupied Territories. His series of eleven square colour images, silent and charged, was awarded the Prix Spécial du Jury Paris-Match in 2002.

From 2002-2004, he contributed to Tendance Floue’s major collective projects, Nationale Zéro and Carrefours; travelled widely; and took a close interest in a particular adventure, the CNA, which shows African films on a big screen in East African bush villages. In 2004, he was invited by the Cercle d’Art Contemporain du Cailar to produce a piece of work with a Camargue bull theme: he staged Putain de maïeutique camarguaise !, a set of photos shown at the Rencontres d’Arles 2005.

Since 1989, Meyer has been undertaking a photographic history entitled La Brigada, a darkly affectionate take on friendship, and the deep-rooted, complex aspect of relationships between men.

Meyer presented his work at the Rencontres d’Arles in 2006: Light, my brother at the Atelier des Forges; He also took part in the following collective exhibitions: Madame la Présidente in 2007; Tendance Floue / Magazine Géo in 2004 et Tendance Floue / Getting down to it in 2011.

logo
fr en

MEYER

PORTRAIT-MEYERNé à Villeneuve-les-Avignons en 1969.

Enfant du Sud, c’est en région Parisienne, à Noisy-Le-Sec qu’il effectue sa formation sur le terrain en tant que  photographe de la Ville de 1991 à 1996. À la même époque il partage aussi les tournées de la compagnie Oposito et du groupe  Urban Sax durant cinq années. De 1993 à 1995 il plonge à cœur ouvert dans les premières raves party et notamment « Lunacy », une Fête underground emblématique de ce début de période. Il en sortira un travail en noir et blanc, total et perdu, à l’image de ces nuits de transe.

En 1996 il rejoint le collectif Tendance Floue, s’implique dans les projets du groupe et travaille pour la presse. De 1999 à 2001 il suit les mouvements alter-mondialistes à Prague, Québec et Gênes. En 2001 et 2002 il fait trois voyages dans les territoires occupés de Palestine. Sa série de onze images en carré couleur, silencieuse et lourde reçoit le prix spécial du jury Paris-Match 2002.

De 2002 à 2004, Il participe aux grands projets collectifs de Tendance Floue, Nationale Zéro et Carrefours, voyage beaucoup, et s’intéresse de prés à une aventure particulière, le CNA qui diffuse le cinéma africain sur grand écran dans les villages de brousse d’Afrique de l’ouest. En 2004 à l’invitation du Cercle d’Art contemporain du Cailar, sur le thème du taureau camargue, il réalise « Putain de maïeutique camarguaise ! », travail exposé aux Rencontres d’Arles 2005.

Depuis 1989, Meyer poursuit une histoire photographique intitulée « La Brigada », regard tendre et noir sur l’amitié, sur l’aspect originel et complexe des relations masculines.


Meyer a exposé aux Rencontres d’Arles en 2006: Mon frère lumière à l’Atelier des Forges; il a aussi participé aux expositions collectives suivantes: Madame la Présidente en 2007; Tendance Floue / Magazine Géo en 2004 et Tendance Floue / Passage à l’acte en 2011.