logo
fr en

NEJMI, Malik

PORTRAIT-NEJMIBorn in 1973 in Orléans, where he lives and works.

Malik Nejmi graduated from the Conservatoire Libre du Cinéma Français and is a founding member of Images du Pôle, a documentary photography and film organisation based in Orléans. 

Since 2001 he has been researching memory and family. Various selections from el Maghreb have been shown at the 6th Rencontres Africaines de la Photographie in Bamako (2005, cat.), at the Musée des Beaux-Arts d’Orléans (2005), and at the Fotoseptiembre biennial held at the Centro de la Imagen de Mexico (2003, cat.). This work was awarded the Prix Kodak de la Critique Photographique (PKCP) in 2005; in the same year, he received an installation bursary from the Centre regional directorate of cultural affairs (DRAC). He is now published by l’Oeil Électrique Éditions. His work has also featured in Hommes et migrations magazine (2003) and in Noire magazine (1999). 

Malik Nejmi also contributes to educational projects, and helps social workers set up workshops to enable people to stage exhibitions. In 2004 and 2005, with the Lumen association, he set up two workshops as part of a major urban project in Orléans-la-Source (overseen by the Ministry of Social Cohesion): Correspondances, photographic workshops with a group of women attending a literary programme (they produced postcards enabling a dialogue between the city centre and suburbs), and Extraits, une enquête pédagogique, workshops to raise awareness of the demolition of a residential block. He is currently doing various projects with cultural and art students in schools: L’atelier photographique imaginaire and France-Afrique : portraits recomposés (a portrait-based project with two classes of schoolchildren in Orléans and Bamako) in 2006. 

Entrada retraces the journey his father made (after he came to France in 1970), following the itinerary of stamps and tourist visas in his passport: Barcelona, Bremen, Dortmund, Rotterdam, Hendaye, Madrid-Irun. He would like his father to write his memoirs in parallel. 


Malik Nejmi presented his work at the Rencontres d’Arles in 2006: El Maghreb at the Atelier des Forges. In 2010 he also took part in the collective exhibition France 14 at the abbaye de Montmajour.

logo
fr en

NEJMI, Malik

PORTRAIT-NEJMINé en 1973 à Orléans, où il vit et travaille.

Diplômé du Conservatoire Libre du Cinéma Français et membre fondateur de la structure Images du Pôle, photographie et cinéma documentaire, à Orléans. Il mène depuis 2001 un travail de recherche sur la mémoire et la famille. Différentes sélections d’el Maghreb ont été exposées aux VIe Rencontres Africaines de la photographie de Bamako (2005, cat.), au Musée des Beaux-arts d’Orléans (2005), ainsi qu’à la Biennale Fotoseptiembre, Centro de la Imagen de Mexico (2003, cat.). Le travail a été récompensé par Prix Kodak de la Critique Photographique (PKCP, 2005) et a reçu une bourse d’aide à l’installation de la Drac Centre dans la même année. 

Aujourd’hui, il est publié par l’Oeil Électrique éditions, il a également été publié dans la revue Hommes et migrations (2003) et dans La revue Noire (1999). Malik Nejmi intervient également dans le cadre de projets pédagogiques. Il accompagne la démarche des travailleurs sociaux, de la mise en place des ateliers à la réalisation d’expositions. 

En 2004 et 2005, il met en place avec l’association Lumen deux ateliers dans le cadre du Grand Projet de Ville d’Orléans-la-Source (Ministère de la Cohésion sociale) : Correspondances, ateliers photographiques avec un groupe de femmes en cours d’alphabétisation (réalisations de cartes postales permettant un dialogue entre les quartiers et le centre ville) et Extraits, une enquête pédagogique, ateliers de sensibilisation autour de la destruction d’un immeuble. Aujourd’hui il continue de mener différents projets au sein de classes PAC : L’atelier photographique imaginaire et France-Afrique : portraits recomposés (un travail sur le portrait entre deux classes d’Orléans et de Bamako) en 2006.

Son travail Entrada reprend le trajet de son père (avant son arrivée en France en 1970) en suivant l’historique des différents tampons et visas touristiques inscris sur son passeport : Barcelone, Bremme, Dortmund, Rotterdam, Hendaye, Madrid-Irun. Dans le même temps, il souhaite que celui-ci écrive ses mémoires.

Malik Nejmi a exposé aux Rencontres d’Arles en 2006: El Maghreb à l’Atelier des Forges. En 2010 il a aussi participé à l’exposition collective France 14 à l’abbaye de Montmajour.