logo
fr en

SIMON, Taryn

PORTRAIT TARYN SIMONBorn in New York in 1975.

Lives and works in New York.


Taryn Simon’s most recent work, An American Index of the Hidden and Unfamiliar, reveals that which is integral to America’s foundation, mythology and daily functioning, but remains inaccessible or unknown to a public audience. Her earlier work, The Innocents, documents cases of wrongful conviction in the United States and investigates photography’s role in that process.

Simon’s photographs have been exhibited nationally and internationally, including solo shows at: Whitney Museum of American Art, New York; Museum Fur Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt; P.S.1 Contemporary Art Center, New York; High Museum of Art, Atlanta; and Kunst-Werke Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin. Permanent collections include: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York; Tate Modern, London; Whitney Museum of American Art, New York; Centre Pompidou, Paris; Museum Fur Moderne Kunst, Frankfurt; and Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles. She is a graduate of Brown University and a Guggenheim Fellow. Simon has been a visiting artist at Yale University, Bard College, Harvard University and Columbia University.

Her photography and writing have been featured in numerous publications and broadcasts including The New York Times Magazine, The New Yorker, Ted.com, CNN, BBC and Frontline. Steidl recently published An American Index of the Hidden and Unfamiliar. She is represented by Gagosian Gallery.


Taryn Simon presented his work at the Rencontres d’Arles in 2010, nominated by Hans-Ulrich Obrist & Philippe Parreno for the Discovery Award: Taryn Simon at the Atelier de Mécanique.

logo
fr en

SIMON, Taryn

PORTRAIT TARYN SIMONNée à New York en 1975.

Vit et travaille à New York.


Le projet le plus récent, de Taryn Simon An American Index of the Hidden and Unfamiliar (Inventaire de l’Amérique cachée ou inconnue), met en évidence les éléments constitutifs de ce pays – son fondement, sa mythologie, son fonctionnement quotidien – tout en demeurant inaccessibles ou inconnus du public. Son œuvre précédente, The Innocents, documente des cas de condamnations erronées aux États-Unis et explore le rôle de la photographie par rapport à ce phénomène.

Le travail de Simon a été exposé dans le monde entier, notamment lors d’expositions personnelles à la Whitney Museum of American Art (New York), au Museum für Moderne Kunst (Francfort), au P.S.1 Contemporary Art Center (New York), au High Museum of Art (Atlanta) et au Kunst-Werke Institute for Contemporary Art (Berlin). Ses photographies figurent dans les collections permanentes du Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York), de la Tate Modern (Londres), du Whitney Museum of American Art (New York), du Centre Pompidou (Paris), du Museum für Moderne Kunst (Francfort) et du Los Angeles Museum of Contemporary Art. Diplômée de la University Brown, elle a bénéficié d’une bourse Guggenheim.

Taryn Simon a été artiste invitée à Yale, au Bard College, à Harvard et à Columbia. Ses photographies et ses textes ont fait l’objet de nombreuses publications et émissions, notamment dans le New York Times Magazine, le New Yorker, Ted.com, CNN, la BBC et Frontline. Steidl a récemment publié An American Index of the Hidden and Unfamiliar. Elle est représentée par la Gagosian Gallery.


Taryn Simon a exposé aux Rencontres d’Arles en 2010, nominée par Hans-Ulrich Obrist & Philippe Parreno pour le Prix Découverte: Taryn Simon à l’Atelier de Mécanique.