logo
fr en

SPRICIGO, Jean-François

PORTRAIT-SPRICIGOBorn in 1979 in Tournai, Belgium.

Lives and works in both Belgium and France.


Jean-François Spricigo began taking photographs in his teens, and his images became his travel journal in the years to come. His photographic work was discovered in 2003 by Antoine d’Agata and Christian Caujolle.

In 2004 his first exhibition in France was presented by Guy Jouaville at Le Parvis Scène Nationale in Tarbes. The series Silenzio was presented at the Contretype photography gallery in Brussels in September 2005, accompanied by a catalogue published by Yellow Now.

In 2007 his new exhibition Notturno was presented at Le Botanique in Brussels. During the same year the French National Library acquired fifteen of his prints for its collection. He showed the Prelude series in February 2008 at the Galerie Agathe Gaillard in Paris and at the Simonis Gallery in Warsaw in April.

His work has received awards from the Fondation Belge de la Vocation and the Institut de France de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts.


Jean-François Spricigo presented his work at the Rencontres d’Arles in 2009, nominated by Lucien Clergue for the Discovery Award: Jean-François Spricigo at the Grande Halle.

logo
fr en

SPRICIGO, Jean-François

PORTRAIT-SPRICIGONé en 1979 à Tournai, Belgique.

Vit et travaille entre la Belgique et la France.


Il commence à photographier dès l’adolescence, ses images deviendront son carnet de voyage pour les années à venir. Son travail photographique est découvert en 2003 par Antoine d’Agata et Christian Caujolle.

En 2004, Guy Jouaville présentera sa première exposition en France à la scène nationale du Parvis à Tarbes. 

La série Silenzio est montrée à l’espace photographique Contretype à Bruxelles en septembre 2005 ; à cette occasion les éditions Yellow Now publient un catalogue. En 2007, sa nouvelle exposition, Notturno, se tient au Botanique à Bruxelles. Cette même année, la Bibliothèque nationale de France acquiert quinze tirages pour sa collection.

Il présente la série Prelude en février 2008 à la galerie Agathe Gaillard et en avril à la Simonis Gallery à Varsovie. Son travail a été primé par la Fondation belge de la Vocation, et également par l’Institut de France de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts.

Jean-François Spricigo a exposé aux Rencontres d’Arles en 2009, présenté par Lucien Clergue pour le Prix Découverte: Jean-François Spricigo à la Grande Halle.