logo
fr en

VENEGAS, Luis

PORTRAIT-VENEGASBorn in 1976 in Vitoria, Spain.

Lives and works in Madrid.


Being a child his family moves to Barcelona. There he studies fashion design and when finished works for Thierry Mugler in Paris and later with Sybilla in Madrid. Being a passionate lover of images, art and photography, starts to collaborate with magazines as a freelance photographer and writer. Contributes to Acne Paper, Butt magazine, Dazed & Confused, El País, etc.

In 2002 he establishes himself as an art director and works for some fashion brands such as Loewe and Carolina Herrera. In 2005 he works for a year as art director of Marie Claire’s magazine (Spanish edition).

In 2004 he started his main professional project, his first own magazine: Fanzine137. It is an independent limited edition publication about art, image, fashion and people. One of the keys to Fanzine137’s style is mixing top-name personal artwork with young talent on the verge of discovery, alongside legendary, mythical artists rarely featured in today’s magazines. Fanzine137 is considered a kind of best-kept-secret for insiders, for all those people who love images and enjoy looking for special projects in printed paper.

In April 2008 his new editorial project is born, a special teenage magazine called Electric Youth. Since 2005 Luis Venegas is also a teacher of contemporary culture at the main fashion institute in Madrid.

Luis Venegas a été nominateur pour les Rencontres d’Arles en 2008. Il a nominé les artistes suivant: Daniel Riera, David Urbano et Leila Mendez.

logo
fr en

VENEGAS, Luis

PORTRAIT-VENEGASNé en 1976 à Vitoria en Espagne.

Vit et travaille à Madrid.


La famille de Luis Venegas emménage à Barcelone au cours de son enfance. Il y étudie le stylisme, puis travaille avec Thierry Mugler à Paris et Sybilla à Madrid. Amoureux transi d’images, d’art et de photographie, il devient rédacteur et photographe free lance. Il travaille pour Acne Paper, Butt magazine, Dazed & Confused et El País, entre autres.

En 2002, il s’installe en tant que directeur artistique indépendant et œuvre pour des marques de couture comme Lwe et Carolina Herrera. En 2005, il prend la direction artistique de l’édition espagnole de Marie Claire pour un an.

En 2004, il se lance dans un grand projet en fondant son propre magazine : Fanzine137. Il s’agit d’une publication indépendante à tirage limité sur l’art, l’image, la mode et les gens. L’identité de Fanzine137 consiste à réunir des travaux personnels de grands noms et de jeunes talents émergents, aux côtés d’artistes mythiques peu médiatisés. Fanzine137 est considéré comme la référence d’un public d’initiés, friands d’images et à l’affût de projets originaux dans la presse imprimée.

En avril 2008, un nouveau projet éditorial voit le jour avec un magazine pour adolescents intitulé Electric Youth ! Depuis 2005, Luis Venegas enseigne la culture contemporaine à l’école de stylisme de Madrid.

Luis Venegas a été nominateur pour les Rencontres d’Arles en 2008. Il a nominé les artistes suivant: Daniel Riera, David Urbano et Leila Mendez.