logo
fr en

WIKLES TUCKER, Anne

PORTRAIT-TUCKERBorn in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.


Anne Wilkes Tucker is currently the Gus and Lyndall Wortham Curator of Photography at the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston where she has worked since 1976. She founded the museum’s Photography Department, which now has a collection of over 22 000 photographs. 

Curator of over 40 exhibitions, she has published many articles and lectured throughout the world. She has been awarded fellowships by the National Endowment for the Arts, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation and the Getty Center, and received an Alumnae Achievement award from Randolph Macon Woman’s College. 

In 2001, in an issue devoted to «America’s Best», TIME magazine honoured her as «America’s Best Curator». She was the first recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Focus Award from the Griffin Museumof Photography in 2006.


Anne Wilkes Tucker was a nominator for the Discovery Award of the Rencontres d’Arles in 2007. She nominated the following artists: Gay Block; Jeff Chien-Hsing Liao and Joseph Mills.

logo
fr en

WIKLES TUCKER, Anne

PORTRAIT-TUCKERNée à Baton Rouge en Louisiane.

Anne Wilkes Tucker est conservatrice « Gus et Lyndall Wortham » pour la photographie au Museum of Fine Arts de Houston où elle travaille depuis 1976. Elle a fondé le département de photographie dont la collection compte aujourd’hui plus de 22 000 oeuvres.

Commissaire de plus de 40 expositions, elle a publié de nombreux articles et donné des conférences dans le monde entier. Lauréate de bourses du National Endowment for the Arts, de la John S.Guggenheim Memorial Foundation et du Getty Center, elle a reçu le prix Alumnae Achievement du Randolph Macon Woman’s College.

En 2001, dans un numéro spécial « America’s Best », Time magazine l’a nommée Meilleure commissaire américaine. En 2006, elle fut la première femme à recevoir le Lifetime Achievement Focus Award du Griffin Museum of Photography.


Anne Wilkes Tucker a été nominatrice pour le Prix Découverte des Rencontres d’Arles en 2007. Elle a nominé les artistes suivant: Gay Block; Jeff Chien-Hsing Liao et Joseph Mills.