logo
fr en
close post
11 July 2014

Claude Hudelot collection / The panorama, mirror of the celestial bureaucracy

In China, one genre seems to prefigure the panoramic photograph: portraits of emperors or high dignitaries, alone or as a couple, then shown again with their descendents. These vertical ‘accumulations’ in the form of family trees are the ancestors of panoramas.

Western photographers first used panoramas to show landscapes like the bay of Hong Kong. The vogue for panoramas—presenting a school, a business, a political meeting—spread rapidly. A rite perfectly suited to Confucian or Communist ideology.

The ultimate development of the genre is undoubtedly the political panorama. When Mao Zedong came to power, he became the absolute symbol of ‘celestial bureaucracy ’.

Everything here has a meaning: the position of each person in relation to the epicentre, which is always ‘the President’, the clothing worn, the setting. The precious icon is taken in the greatest hall of the People’s Palace, at Tiananmen, or in the open air, and always in Beijing, the hallmark of Maoist fervour.

In one of these panoramas, which brings together the entire political clique at a crucial moment—it is 1966, the Cultural Revolution has just begun—everyone is lined up as though on parade, hands on knees, legs uncrossed. Everyone but one person: the Great Helmsman. He seems to take a sly pleasure in differentiating himself. The message is clear: ‘I, President Mao, am above the law.’

In short, the Maoist panorama is an almost inexhaustible source of information for any historian of contemporary China. Today, the genre is on its way out. The new establishment, incarnated by Xi Jinping, hardly uses it any more, while nonetheless perpetuating a confounding formalism, which has mutated from this fixed and framed format to an equally inflexible ritual of hyper-hierarchical parades, carefully rehearsed, in all probability, for the television cameras.

Claude Hudelot



Exhibition curator: Claude Hudelot.


Exhibition organised within the framework of France-Chine 50.

www.france-chine50.com

Framing by Circad, Paris.



Exhibition venue: Bureau DesLices, Rencontres d’Arles 2014.

logo
fr en
close post
11 juillet 2014

Collection Claude Hudelot / Le panorama, miroir de la bureaucratie céleste

En Chine, un genre semble préfigurer la photo panoramique : c’est le portrait des empereurs, des hauts dignitaires, seuls ou en couple, puis représentés avec leur descendance. Ces « accumulations » verticales sous forme d’arbres généalogiques sont les ancêtres des panoramas.


Des photographes occidentaux utilisent d’abord ceux-ci pour faire connaître au monde des paysages tels que la baie de Hong Kong. La vogue des panoramas – lesquels peuvent être une école, une entreprise, une assemblée politique – prendra ensuite son essor. Un rite parfaitement en phase avec l’idéologie confucianiste ou communiste.

Le sommet du genre est indéniablement le panorama politique. À son arrivée au pouvoir, Mao Zedong devient le symbole absolu de la « bureaucratie céleste ». Tout ici fait sens : la position de chacun par rapport à l’épicentre qu’est toujours « le Président », les vêtements revêtus, le cadre. La précieuse icône est prise dans le plus grand hall du Palais du Peuple, à Tian An Men ou en plein-air et toujours à Pékin, marque du jacobinisme maoïste.

Sur l’un de ces panoramas rassemblant toute la clique politique à un moment crucial – nous sommes en 1966, la Révolution culturelle vient de commencer –, chacun se voit aligné comme à la parade, mains posées sur les genoux, jambes décroisées. Tous, à l’exception d’un seul : le Grand Timonier. Celui-ci semble prendre un malin plaisir à se singulariser. Le message est clair : « Moi, Président Mao, je suis au-dessus des lois ».

Bref, le panorama maoïste recèle des informations quasi inépuisables pour tout historien de la Chine contemporaine. Aujourd’hui, le genre est en voie d’extinction. Le nouveau pouvoir, incarné par Xi Jingping, ne l’utilise quasiment plus, tout en perpétuant un formalisme confondant, lequel a glissé de cette forme figée et compassée au rituel tout aussi empesé de défilés hyper hiérarchisés et probablement soigneusement répétés devant les caméras de télévision.


Claude Hudelot



Encadrements réalisés par Circad, Paris.

Manifestation organisée dans le cadre de France-Chine 50.

www.france-chine50.com



Exposition présentée au Bureau DesLices, Rencontres d’Arles 2014.