logo
fr en
close post
12 July 2014

W.M. Hunt’s Collection, Foule

This passion for collecting is foolish. Collectors must be fools. Fou. Foule. Welcome to Hunt’s three-ring circus.

It took awhile in my own collecting to have the confidence in my own ‘eye’ to be image driven as opposed to being caught up in the reputation of the artist. And if you are really humming as a collector at some point the photographs start to find you.

Collectors play by their own rules. We have all sorts of reasons for acquiring stuff, sometimes thoughtful or thought through and sometimes arbitrary. These works are from a collection that has come together over the past fifteen years or so. I like these photographs. Images of groups seem to occupy a small subset within the history of photography. And if you only deal with American photographs made before 1950, you still get to look at a pretty wacky assortment, and even though photographers seem to live forever, most of these have gone on to that big group on the other side. Dealing with them is sadly but sweetly one sided.

Posses, clubs, teams, graduations, parades, rallies, clans, fraternities, assemblies, ceremonies, choruses, and mobs are all here. It strikes me that it is be difficult to make these pictures. The logistics are tricky. First of all, you need a bunch of people and a group that will cooperate. It’s hard to get everyone into the shot at the same moment. Then beyond the record making or documentary nature of these images, the aesthetic challenges to making something artful must be daunting.

Who are these people and what brought them together? These are bizarre, enigmatic visual matrices of information that we can attempt to decode many ways. I like when the blacks and whites play against each other in some sort of unique pattern, literally like a musical staff with notes. Think of these as visual arpeggios. This is jazz.

This is not a definitive collection of photographs. These are fun and odd, and they resonate with me. These photographs find me, and I like having them and here, sharing them.

That is the pleasure of collecting.



W.M. Hunt

(this text is adapted from an essay written for the Houston Center for Photography in 2010).



Exhibition venue: Palais de l’archevêché, Rencontres d’Arles 2014.

logo
fr en
close post
12 juillet 2014

Collection W.M. Hunt, Foule

La passion de la collection est stupide. Les collectionneurs doivent être fous. Fous. Foules. Bienvenue dans le cirque à trois pistes de Hunt.

Il m’a fallu bien du temps, au cours de mon activité de collectionneur, pour avoir enfin confiance en mon « il », en ma capacité à me laisser guider par les images et non par la réputation d’un artiste. Et si vous vous en sortez vraiment bien comme collectionneur, à partir d’un moment ce sont les photos qui commencent à vous trouver.

Les collectionneurs ont leurs propres règles. Nous avons toutes sortes de raisons pour lesquelles acquérir des œuvres : parfois, elles sont mûrement réfléchies et parfois elles sont complètement arbitraires. Ces oeuvres sont extraites d’une collection à laquelle je travaille depuis une quinzaine d’années. J’aime ces photographies. Les images de groupes semblent occuper une toute petite place dans l’histoire de la photographie. Même en ne s’intéressant qu’aux photos américaines d’avant 1950, on se retrouve avec un assortiment complètement fou et bien que ces photographes semblent éternels, la plupart d’entre eux ne sont plus là : la relation est à sens unique.

Bandes, clubs, remises de diplômes, parades, meetings, clans, fraternités, assemblées, cérémonies, chorales, foules: on trouve de tout. Le fait qu’il a dû être très difficile de prendre ces photos me frappe. La logistique est délicate. D’abord, vous devez réunir un certain nombre de personnes et il faut que le groupe soit coopératif. Ensuite, il est extrêmement difficile de réunir tout le monde dans le cadre au même moment. Enfin, au-delà de l’intérêt documentaire ou archivistique de ces images, en faire quelque chose d’artistique est un défi esthétique redoutable.

Qui sont ces personnes et pourquoi sont-elles ensemble ? Ces images sont des matrices visuelles d’informations énigmatiques, il existe d’innombrables manières de les déchiffrer. J’aime quand le noir et le blanc s’affrontent en suivant ce qu’on imagine être un modèle unique, exactement comme des notes sur une portée. Pensez à ces images comme à des arpèges visuels. C’est du jazz.

Ceci n’est pas une collection définitive de photographies, mais elles sont amusantes et bizarres, et résonnent en moi. Ces photographies m’ont trouvé, j’aime les posséder et les partager. C’est ça, le plaisir de collectionner.


W. M. Hunt

(Note de l’auteur : ce texte est une adaptation d’un article que j’avais écrit en 2010 pour le Houston Center for Photography.)




Exposition présentée au Palais de l’archevêché, Rencontres d’Arles 2014.