logo
fr en
close post
25 August 2012

Documents towards an alternative kind of information works from the Centre National des Arts Plastiques

In view of the fact that several artists from the ENSP have made documentary forms, strategies and procedure central to their activities, this exhibition proposes to take stock of this fundamental aspect of contemporary work, using the collections of the Centre National des Arts Plastiques. The artists involved were at the school at different moments throughout its history. What they have in common is a way of seeing photography as a tool for critical comment on contemporary realities.

Their working methods are based on the demands made by an encounter, the necessity of a shared experience and the need to spend long hours working, without the pressures of speed and illustration. They have all made a specific decision to work in places that have both geography and a history. Their use of images as a means of investigation has produced “a new narrative of the world”, as Riccardo Petrella put it.

The exhibition is structured around the themes tackled by these photographers, around descriptions of the working and living environment and, in particular, the institutions that structure society. In putting this delicate cohabitation together, the challenge has been to find ways of connecting the idiosyncratic with what is common to all the artists. This tension is particularly evident in the antagonistic relationship between the individual and the built environment. How does one live in the world and, at the same time, resist the pressures of alienation?

The dominant systems of representation both ignore and distort what makes up the richness of everyday life. More than ever before, art is the place where alternative images can be invented in a quest for both greater exactness and an ethical stance in the act of representation. These photographers have invented an alternative kind of information. Their images make no claims to being a universal explanation of the phenomena that contribute to the illegibility of an epoch that likes to describe itself as ‘complex’; but they give us a fresh awareness of facts that we are contemporary with, by redefining artistic activity as a laboratory for producing ways of knowing.


Pascal Beausse, curator and director of photo collections at the CNAP.

Photographers exhibiting: Philippe Bazin, Pierre Faure, Valérie Jouve, Andrea Keen, Olivier Menanteau, Jürgen Nefzger, Mathieu Pernot, Red Caballo, Bruno Serralongue.


Exhibition organized in collaboration with the Centre National des Arts Plastiques (CNAP).

Exhibition venue: espace Van Gogh, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
27 août 2012

Documents pour une information alternative, Centre national des arts plastiques

Les étudiants de l’ENSP au sein des collections du CNAP


En faisant le constat que plusieurs des artistes issus de l’ENSP ont mis au coeur de leurs pratiques les formes, stratégies et protocoles documentaires, cette exposition se propose de faire un point sur cet aspect fondamental de la création actuelle, à travers les collections photographiques du Centre national des arts plastiques (CNAP). Issus de différentes promotions, réparties sur toute l’histoire de l’école, ces artistes ont en commun de considérer la photographie comme un outil de représentation critique des réalités contemporaines.

Leurs méthodes de travail sont fondées sur l’exigence d’une rencontre, d’une expérience partagée et d’une temporalité longue de travail, insoumise à des impératifs de rapidité et d’illustration. Ils et elles ont fait le choix déterminant de travailler en des lieux situés, géographiquement et historiquement. L’investigation par l’image leur permet de produire une « nouvelle narration du monde », pour reprendre les mots de Riccardo Petrella.

L’exposition est structurée autour des sujets abordés par ces photographes, à travers la description de l’environnement et des cadres de vie, et notamment des institutions qui structurent la société. L’enjeu est de figurer des points d’articulation entre singularités et communauté, dans la construction fragile d’un vivre-ensemble. Cette tension s’exprime particulièrement à travers la relation conflictuelle qui s’instaure entre l’individu et le monde construit. Comment habiter le monde, tout en y déployant une force de résistance à l’aliénation?

Les systèmes de représentation dominants ignorent et déforment tout à la fois ce qui fait la richesse de la vie quotidienne. Plus que jamais, l’art est le lieu où peuvent s’inventer des images alternatives, en recherche d’une plus grande justesse mais aussi d’une éthique dans l’acte de représentation. Ces photographes inventent une autre information. Leurs images ne prétendent pas offrir une explication universelle de tous ces phénomènes constitutifs de l’illisibilité d’une époque se disant et se voulant « complexe » mais elles proposent une connaissance nouvelle sur des faits situés dont nous sommes les contemporains, en redéfinissant l’activité artistique comme laboratoire de production de savoirs.


Commissaire : Pascal Beausse, responsable des collections photographiques du CNAP

Photographes exposés : Philippe Bazin, Pierre Faure, Valérie Jouve, Andrea Keen, Olivier Menanteau, Jürgen Nefzger, Mathieu Pernot, Red Caballo, Bruno Serralongue.


Exposition réalisée en collaboration avec le centre national des Arts plastiques.

Exposition présentée à l’espace Van Gogh, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.