fr en
close post
23 July 2015

The Discovery Award 2015

The nominators of the 2015 Discovery Award
Presentation of the 10 nominated artists by their nominators:
Krzysztof Candrowicz presents Anna Orlowska and Shilo Group ;
Louise Clements presents Lisa Barnard and Robert Zhao Renhui ;
Fannie Escoulen presents Pauline Fargue and Julián Barón ;
Claire Jacquet presents Delphine Chanet and Omar Victor Diop ;
Francesco Zanot presents Paola Pasquaretta and The Cool Couple. 

The five nominators of the 2015 Discovery Award are photography experts dealing with emerging practices and working as festival directors, heads of institutions, and independent curators.

Krzysztof Candrowicz, director of the fotofestiwal in Lodz, Poland and artistic director of the Triennial of Photography, Hamburg;

Louise Clements, co‐founder of the FORMAT International Photography Festival in Derby, United Kingdom;

Fannie Escoulen, independent exhibition curator;

Claire Jacquet, director of the FRAC Aquitaine;

Francesco Zanot, photo critic and exhibition curator, Camera, Italian Center of Photography, Turin, Italy.

The discovery Award is given to a photographer or an artist using photography whose work has recently been discovered or deserves to be.

Every year since 2002, each of the five nominators invited by the rencontres d’Arles has nominated two photographers, who exhibit their work in a solo show at the Parc des Ateliers. during opening week, professionals choose the winner, who receives the €25,000 award during a ceremony at the Théâtre Antique.

The LUMA Foundation has been the discovery Award’s exclusive partner since 2002.

Grande Halle, Parc des Ateliers