logo
fr en
close post
5 July 2013

Gilbert Garcin in Arles

Everything began in the summer of 1995, when Gilbert Garcin, recently retired but quite simply wanting a second life, decided to launch into photography and, in order to so, participated in classes at the Rencontres d’Arles. Here he practised photomontage, which would be his first source of inspiration. From that time on, using himself as a stand-in, he imagined a universal character whose initial outfit could have been borrowed from Jacques Tati’s Monsieur Hulot. The Gilbert Garcin character grew into an ambiguous embodiment of himself, through which he acted out staged, deceptively ludicrous situations, which he described as ‘small philosophies’, in the style of the great Alfred Hitchcock.

His work casts its spell because Gilbert Garcin shows us obvious things that concern us all: life passing by, the fleeting nature of time, the tenacity required to continue Hence, he recalls in images, along with the help of evocative titles, that it is preferable to ‘do one’s best’ and to ‘know one’s limits’, because, deep down, all we’re doing is ‘replaying old familiar tunes’, those of Sisyphus and Atlas.


Parallel to this, Monsieur Garcin, a pragmatic man, has based his work on a rigorous method: producing a weekly photographic essay featuring his ‘character’ in a makeshift set that he has also devised. Thanks to such determination, over some twenty years a corpus of more than four hundred photographs has built up. And like all great artists, his style and his universe have imposed themselves and charmed a very large public, both professional and amateur alike. Mister G is now known throughout the world, through his exhibitions and publications, but also through the thousands of references to him found on the Internet. The major retrospective the Rencontres d’Arles dedicates to him is a long-awaited homage to this brilliant oeuvre.

Christine Ollier, director of Les filles du calvaire gallery.


Exhibition venue: Atelier de Chaudronnerie, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.

logo
fr en
close post
5 juillet 2013

Gilbert Garcin à Arles

Tout commence l’été 1995, lorsque Gilbert Garcin, alors jeune retraité qui a tout bonnement envie d’une seconde vie, se décide à se lancer dans la photographie et participe pour ce faire à des stages aux Rencontres d’Arles. Il y pratique le photomontage, qui sera sa source d’inspiration première. Depuis lors, il a imaginé à partir de sa propre silhouette un personnage universel dont il emprunte au départ la défroque à Tati. La figure de Gilbert Garcin se bâtit comme une incarnation ambiguë de lui-même à travers laquelle il interprète en acteur des situations mises en scène, faussement burlesques, qu’il qualifie de « petites philosophies » à la manière du grand Hitchcock.

Le charme opère car l’artiste nous parle d’évidences qui nous concernent tous : celle de la vie qui s’écoule, du temps qui fuit, de la ténacité qu’il faut pour continuer… Ainsi, Gilbert Garcin rappelle en images et à l’aide de titres évocateurs qu’il est préférable de « faire de son mieux » et de « connaître ses limites » car au fond on ne fait que « rejouer de vieux airs connus », ceux de « Sisyphe » ou d’« Atlas ».

Parallèlement, Monsieur Garcin, en homme pragmatique, a assis son travail sur une méthode rigoureuse : la production d’un essai de photographie hebdomadaire à partir de sa silhouette installée dans un décor qu’il réalise sous forme d’une maquette précaire. Grâce à cette détermination, s’est constitué en quelques vingt années un corpus de plus de quatre cents photographies. Et comme pour tout grand artiste, son style et son univers se sont imposés et ont séduit un très large public tant professionnel qu’amateur. Mister G est désormais connu à travers le monde tant par ses expositions, ses publications que par les milliers de références que l’on trouve à son sujet sur Internet. La rétrospective majeure que les Rencontres d’Arles lui consacrent est un hommage attendu à cette oeuvre fulgurante.

Christine Ollier, directrice de la galerie Les filles du calvaire.


Exposition présentée à l’Atelier de Chaudronnerie, parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.