logo
fr en
close post
4 July 2013

Giuseppe Penone, Entre les lignes*

The origins to Giuseppe Penone’s oeuvre lie in ‘the desire to establish a relationship of equals between himself and things’. From his very first works, he instigated a relationship with the organic world and with nature, in particular with trees: ‘In May 1969, I went into the forest and I set on down a path through time, slow, thoughtful and amazed.’ Since then, Penone has been creating sculptures, installations and photographs. His work, for which he mainly employs earth, wood, leather, marble and bronze, often takes place in places that allow him to express the work’s monumental character.


For the Arles’ exhibition, a group of photographs, drawings and sculptures will be presented in the Chapelle du Méjan. A monumental bronze tree, realised specifically for this exhibition, will be installed in the centre of the Saint-Trophine cloister, and other works will be presented at the Musée Réattu. A catalogue, conceived by the artist and Pascale Le Thorel, will be published on the occasion of the exhibition.


Between the Lines
, the title of this event, evokes Penone’s work by referring to Pliny the Elder’s adage: ‘Nulla dies sine linea’ (‘Not a day without a line’).


It also refers to the artist’s work on imprints (from the impression of his fingerprints on sheets of paper to their appearance in artworks where resin flows, from the revelation of circles of wood to the forms contained in this material): ‘The imprint is a thing that everyone leaves around them, and which we spend a part of our lives trying to erase. It is an animal image, a material image, but also a completely cultural image.’

Exhibition curator: Frédéric Paul


*Between the Lines


Exhibition coproduced by the Méjan Association and Marseilles-Provence 2013.

Exhibition venue: Chapelle Saint-Martin du Méjan, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.

logo
fr en
close post
4 juillet 2013

Giuseppe Penone, Entre les lignes

À l’origine de l’oeuvre de Giuseppe Penone, il y a « la volonté d’établir un rapport d’égalité entre lui-même et les choses ». Dès ses premiers travaux, il met en uvre une relation à l’organique et à la nature, et en particulier aux arbres : « En mai 1969, je suis entré dans la forêt du bois et j’ai commencé un parcours dans le temps, lent, pensif et étonné. » Depuis lors, il réalise des sculptures, des installations, des photographies. Son travail, pour lequel il utilise principalement la terre, le bois, le cuir, le marbre et le bronze, prend souvent place dans des espaces qui lui permettent d’exprimer son caractère monumental.


Dans le cadre de l’exposition d’Arles, un ensemble de photographies, de dessins et de sculptures sera présenté dans la chapelle du Méjan. Un arbre monumental en bronze, réalisé spécialement pour cette exposition, sera installé au centre du cloître Saint-Trophime, et d’autres uvres seront présentées au musée Réattu. Un catalogue, conçu par l’artiste et Pascale Le Thorel, sera publié à l’occasion de l’exposition.


Entre les lignes
, le titre de cette manifestation, évoque le travail de Penone en faisant référence à l’adage de Pline, « Nulla dies sine linea » (« Aucun jour sans tracer de lignes »).


Il renvoie aussi au travail de l’artiste autour de l’empreinte (de l’impression de l’empreinte de ses doigts sur des feuilles de papier à leur apparition dans des oeuvres où coule la résine, de la révélation des cercles du bois aux formes contenues dans ce matériau) : « L’empreinte, c’est une chose que tout le monde dépose autour de soi, et que l’on passe une partie de sa vie à tenter d’effacer. C’est une image animale, une image de la matière, mais c’est aussi une image complètement culturelle. »

Frédéric Paul, commissaire de l’exposition


Exposition coproduite par l’association du Méjan et Marseille-Provence 2013.

Exposition présentée à la Chapelle Saint-Martin du Méjan, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.