logo
fr en
close post
28 August 2012

Grégoire Alexandre, Uchronies*

The Earth is neither round nor blue: it’s a cube, white, pierced through by a double door. In this cube, there are grottos of an immaculate whiteness and paper unicorns that wander across the valleys, steep flour mountains and women carrying, with the same momentum, a god-armchair; and then there are barren expanses, deserts of an absolute whiteness, punctuated by a few umbrellas and tripods in distress. No sun, no moon, no skies. Just a few lights, which come and go.

It is here, in this white cube, in this place outside of everything and with nothing, that the photographer Grégoire Alexandre fabricates his parallel worlds almost every day. The creator’s hubris is generally expressed with strips of Sellotape, scraps of paper and often studio accessories: polyboards, booms, umbrellas and reflectors. The mechanics of doing are usually hidden with care behind illusionist staging, but in Grégoire Alexandre’s work they play the main role. His parallel worlds don’t have the sugary flavour of languid, faraway dreams; they are here and now, in the studio, in the materiality of his four white walls and amongst all this aluminium and polystyrene paraphernalia. Artifice is exposed and it constantly reminds us that it is an image; yes, all of this is indeed cardboard, a playground for a photographer who constructs, assembles and stacks to a critical point of balance and sometimes breaks everything, stripping the studio bare until exposing its skeleton. Construct, undo, reconstruct. The studio, a perpetual system of constant renewal, is a living organism. Grégoire Alexandre observes these life cycles and confines the ‘after’ and the ‘asides’ to the shot, when the objects to be photographed have left the stage, or when the extras, while waiting, group together in a corner, a small human cell taking shape in this large, white and empty body.

The photographer puts to work constraint, place – these four white walls – and time – that of the commission, be it a publishing or advertising assignment – and his shots timed to the minute. It’s his Oulipo game, he who works, rather, he who does not restrain, the field of possibility. And then, we cannot omit the object at the centre of all this attention, the one that motivates these commissions: it is sometimes an article of designer clothing, sometimes a watch or a bag, by the occasion a bearer of artistic expression, and often asking to be carried and transcended by the image. A few strings, a little light, one or two accessories outside the frame that surreptitiously enter it, and here there is a parallel world that takes shape. Nothing spectacular in the photographer’s mises en scènes, everything is in the gesture, delicate. Like the simple white sheet that, through expert Origami folding, suddenly becomes a fantastic animal, the white cube explored by Grégoire Alexandre reveals territories where fable and poetry unfold.


Raphaëlle Stopin

* Uchronies : Alternate Histories



Exhibition venue: Église des Trinitaires, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
28 août 2012

Grégoire Alexandre, Uchronies

La Terre n’est ni ronde ni bleue ; c’est un cube, blanc, percé d’une double porte. Dans ce cube, il y a des grottes d’un blanc immaculé et des licornes de papiers qui parcourent les vallées, des montagnes de farine escarpées et des femmes portant d’un même élan un dieu-fauteuil ; et puis il y a des étendues désertiques, des déserts d’une absolue blancheur, ponctués de quelques parapluies et trépieds en perdition. Pas de soleil, pas de lune, pas de cieux. Juste quelques lumières, qui vont et viennent.

C’est là, dans ce cube blanc, dans ce lieu hors de tout et sans rien, que le photographe Grégoire Alexandre fabrique quasi quotidiennement ses mondes parallèles. L’ hubris du créateur s’exprime généralement chez lui à coups de scotch, de fonds de papier et souvent d’accessoires de studio : polyboards, girafes, parapluies et réflecteurs. Quand la mécanique du faire est habituellement dissimulée avec soin derrière des mises en scène illusionnistes, elle tient, chez Grégoire Alexandre, le rôle principal. Ses mondes parallèles n’ont pas la saveur sucrée de songes alanguis, d’ailleurs lointains ; ils sont ici et maintenant, dans le studio, dans la matérialité de ses quatre murs blancs et de tout cet attirail d’aluminium et de polystyrène. L’artifice s’expose et se rappelle à l’image sans cesse ; oui, tout cela est bien du carton pâte, un terrain de jeux pour un photographe qui construit, assemble, empile jusqu’au point critique de l’équilibre et parfois casse tout, dénudant le studio jusqu’à mettre à nu son squelette. Construire, défaire, reconstruire. Le studio, système en perpétuel recommencement, est un organisme vivant. Grégoire Alexandre observe ses cycles de vie et consigne les « après » et les « à côtés » des prises de vues, quand les objets à photographier ont quitté la scène ou quand les figurants, dans l’attente, se regroupent dans un coin, petite cellule humaine se formant dans ce grand corps blanc et vide.

Le photographe fait oeuvre de la contrainte, de lieu – ces quatre murs blancs – et de temps – celui de la commande, éditoriale ou publicitaire, et de ses prises de vues minutées –, c’est son Oulipo à lui, celui qui ouvre, plutôt qu’il ne restreint, le champ des possibles. Et puis, on ne peut omettre l’objet au centre de toutes ces attentions, celui qui motive la commande : il est parfois vêtement de créateur, parfois montre ou sac, par occasion porteur d’expression artistique, souvent, demandant à être porté et transcendé par l’image. Quelques ficelles, un peu d’éclairage, un ou deux accessoires hors-cadre qui s’avancent subrepticement dans le cadre, et voici le monde parallèle qui prend forme. Rien de spectaculaire dans les mises en scènes du photographe, tout est dans le geste, délicat. Comme la simple feuille blanche devient soudain animal fantastique par le pliage savant de l’origami, le cube blanc, exploré par Grégoire Alexandre, révèle des territoires où se déploient fable et poésie.



Raphaëlle Stopin


Exposition présentée à l’Église des Trinitaires, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.