logo
fr en
close post
3 July 2013

Hiroshi Sugimoto, Couleurs de l’ombre

From late-2009 to the beginning of 2010, my daily routine saw me rise at 5:30 every morning. First thing, I would check for hints of light dawning above the eastern horizon. If the day promised fair weather, next I would sight the ‘morning star’ shining to the upper right of the nascent dawn. Only then did I ready my old Polaroid camera and start warming up a film pack from the long winter night chill.


Sunlight travels through black empty space, strikes and suffers my prism, and refracts into an infinite continuum of colour. In order to view each hue more clearly, I devised a mirror with a special micro-adjusting tilting mechanism. Projecting the coloured beam from a prism onto my mirror, I reflected it into a dim observation chambre where I reduced it to Polaroid colours. Of course, I could further split those prismatic colours by adjusting the angle of that long tall mirror so as to reflect only the hue I want. I could split red into an infinity of reds. Especially when juxtaposed against the dark, each red appears wondrous unto itself. Moreover, colours change constantly. As the sun climbs on its arc, the colours from the prism vary moment by moment. It only takes a few minutes for red to turn orange then yellow. Cranking the worm gear by hand to adjust the mirror angle to compensate for the rising sun, I managed to keep the colour band within my field of vision.


I thought I had finished this project, but I availed myself of the opportunity to buy up the last existing stocks of expired Polaroid film from the final ebb of production. Consistently clear Tokyo winter mornings found me swimming in a sea of colours.


Hiroshi Sugimoto



FROM COLOURS OF SHADOW TO COULEURS DE L’OMBRE

For the third edition of Hermès Editeur, I chose to call on the talent of Hiroshi Sugimoto, I met when travelling in Asia a few years before. Sugimoto’s approach to his art, constantly exploring the resources of age-old craft skills so as to set up an inventive dialogue between history, traditions and a contemporary mode of expression, is very much at one with Hermès’ own philosophy. This realisation only confirmed my desire to appeal to this artist’s incisive, brilliant vision.

I can still remember very clearly the day I visited Hiroshi Sugimoto at his studio in Tokyo and he showed me his project, Colours of Shadow. At the centre of a large, light-filled room, rising like a column from floor to ceiling, there stood an optical glass prism of immaculate clarity. Hiroshi Sugimoto spent some months methodically taking Polaroids of these subtly varying gradations which were different every time. This was the chromatic epiphany that the artist suggested we could capture on our silk scarf.

The importance in this project of colour and abstraction, two notions close to my heart, made it perfectly coherent with the two previous editions by Hermès Editeur: Hommage au carré by Josef Albers (2008) and Photos-souvenirs au carré by Daniel Buren (2010).

The vocation of Hermès Éditeur projects is for this house of traditional craftsmanship to push its know-how further, beyond its limits. Together, we made a selection of 20 Polaroids to transpose onto silk: 20 carrés, each in an edition of 7, a total of 140 squares measuring 140 cm x 140 cm.

So it was that Couleurs de l’ombre came into being.


Pierre-Alexis Dumas, Artistic Director, Hermès


Exhibition venue : Église Saint-Blaise, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.

logo
fr en
close post
12 juillet 2013

Hiroshi Sugimoto, Couleurs de l’ombre

Entre la fin de l’année 2009 et le début de l’année 2010, j’ai pris pour habitude de me lever chaque jour à 5 h 30. Je commençais par observer les premières lueurs de l’aurore : si une belle journée s’annonçait, je repérais l’étoile du Berger qui se trouve au-dessus et à droite de l’aube naissante. Je sortais alors mon vieil appareil photo polaroïd et je commençais à réchauffer une pellicule glacée par la longue nuit d’hiver.


Après avoir traversé l’espace vide et noir, la lumière du soleil vient heurter et subir mon prisme, se réfractant en un infini continuum de couleurs. Pour percevoir clairement chaque nuance, j’ai doté un miroir d’un mécanisme qui permet de l’incliner par micromouvements. Projetant le rayon de couleur du prisme sur le miroir, je l’ai réfléchi vers une chambre noire où je l’ai réduit aux couleurs polaroïds. En ajustant l’angle de ce long et haut miroir, j’ai pu décomposer davantage encore les couleurs prismatiques, de façon à ne réfléchir qu’une seule couleur. Ainsi du rouge, que j’ai subdivisé en une infinité de nuances rouges – chacune étant comme sublimée par l’obscurité. Les couleurs du prisme se succèdent à mesure que le soleil poursuit son ascension : en quelques minutes, le rouge devient orange, puis jaune. Mais en remontant manuellement le mécanisme pour ajuster l’angle du miroir de façon à compenser le soleil levant, je suis parvenu à conserver la même bande de couleurs dans mon champ de vision.


Je pensais que ce projet touchait à sa fin, mais l’opportunité d’acquérir les derniers stocks de films polaroïds d’une production alors arrêtée s’est présentée et je l’ai saisie. Souvent clairs en hiver, les matins tokyoïtes m’ont vu baigner dans une mer de couleurs.


Hiroshi Sugimoto

 

DE COLOURS OF SHADOW À COULEURS DE L’OMBRE

Pour le troisième volet d’Hermès Éditeur, j’ai souhaité faire appel au talent d’Hiroshi Sugimoto que j’ai rencontré lors d’un voyage en Asie, il y a quelques années. Sa démarche artistique qui ne cesse d’explorer les ressources des savoir-faire séculaires de l’artisanat pour établir un dialogue inventif entre l’histoire, une tradition, une pratique et une expression contemporaine, fait pleinement écho à la philosophie de la maison Hermès. Cette évidence m’a conforté dans le désir de solliciter l’acuité et la fulgurance de son regard.

Je garde une vision nette et précise du jour où, lors de ma visite dans son atelier de Tokyo, Hiroshi Sugimoto me dévoila son projet, Colours of Shadow. Au centre d’une grande pièce, en pleine lumière, se dressait du sol au plafond, telle une colonne, un prisme de verre optique d’une grande densité et d’une clarté absolue. Pendant plusieurs mois, Hiroshi Sugimoto a photographié méthodiquement, au moyen d’un appareil polaroïd, les variations subtiles de ces dégradés, chaque fois différents. Une épiphanie chromatique que l’artiste me proposa de fixer sur notre carré de soie.

La place accordée à la couleur et à l’abstraction, notions qui me sont particulièrement chères, inscrivait ce projet en parfaite cohérence avec les deux précédentes éditions : Hommage au carréde Josef Albers (2008) et Photos-souvenirs au carré de Daniel Buren (2010).

La maison Hermès, dans le cadre ces projets Hermès Éditeur, a pour vocation de repousser constamment et toujours plus loin les limites de ses savoir-faire traditionnels. Nous avons alors sélectionné ensemble 20 polaroïds à retranscrire sur soie : 20 carrés édités en 7 exemplaires, soit 140 carrés de 140 cm x 140 cm.

Ainsi naquit Couleurs de l’ombre.

Pierre-Alexis Dumas, Directeur artistique, Hermès


Exposition présentée à l’église Saint-Blaise, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.