logo
fr en
close post

Daile Kaplan Collection, Pop Photographica from Les Rencontres d'Arles on Vimeo.

27 June 2014

Interview Daile Kaplan

Daile Kaplan is vice president and director of photographs and photobooks at Swann Galleries, New York’s oldest specialty auction house, where she is also an auctioneer. A celebrated speaker about collecting photographs, she has been an appraiser of fine art and vernacular photography, and the photographs specialist on the popular American tv program, Antiques Roadshow.

In the 1990s she began collecting 3-dimensional decorative and functional objects enhanced with photographs. Soon after, she coined the term ‘pop photographica’ to describe this new genre. This new genre features the full spectrum of everyday artifacts by anonymous and celebrated practitioners.

She presents in 2014 her collection, Pop Photographica: Images and Objects at the Bureau DesLices, a collection which reflects photography’s shifting identity, one that has long encompassed vernacular and fine art expressions, a convergence of high and low cultures. Pop Photographica reformulates our idea of photography at a critical cultural and historical juncture, and offers new insights regarding the dynamic role pictures have played.



Film making : Valentin Bardawil


Pop Photographica: Images & Objects at the Bureau DesLices, Rencontres d’Arles 2014.

logo
fr en
close post

Daile Kaplan Collection : Pop Photographica (version française) from Les Rencontres d'Arles on Vimeo.

27 juin 2014

Interview Daile Kaplan

Daile Kaplan est vice-présidente et directrice du département de la photographie et des publications à la Swann Galleries où elle est aussi commissaire-priseur. Experte dans le domaine des beaux-arts et de la photographie vernaculaire, ses conférences sur les collections photographiques ainsi que ses interventions dans l’émission de télévision Antiques Roadshow l’ont rendue célèbre dans son pays.

Depuis les années 1990, Daile Kaplan collectionne les objets, fonctionnels ou décoratifs, parés d’images photographiques, définissant un genre nouveau qu’elle a baptisé « Pop photographica ». Ce nouveau genre regroupe tout le spectre des objets du quotidien, créations d’anonymes ou d’artistes renommés qui ont exploré les différents usages de la photographie.

Elle expose en 2014 aux Rencontres d’Arles sa collection au Bureau DesLices, collection d’objets parés d’images photographiques témoignant de l’identité mouvante de la photographie, un art qui pendant longtemps a embrassé cultures savante et populaire. Pop Photographica: images et objets propose une définition de la photographie à la croisée des études culturelles et historiques, et un nouvel aperçu du rôle dynamique de l’image.


Réalisation : Valentin Bardawil


Pop Photographica : images et objets au Bureau DesLices, Rencontres d’Arles 2014.