logo
fr en
close post

Interview de Lucien Clergue from Les Rencontres d'Arles on Vimeo.

5 July 2014

Interview of Lucien Clergue

In 2014, for Lucien Clergue’s 80th anniversary, we wanted to put things in order, bring the reading of his photography back to its essential elements and sort out the stories he recounts with such loquaciousness, in order to accompany them.

The nudes which made him famous rest alongside fragile scenes where he projects his own bruises through images of children in ruins, animal cadavers, or abstract and ephemeral drawings in sand. Violence, like passion, are all too real in his photos of corridas or the juxtapositions that he creates in museums. His photographic practice, initially intuitive, was vindicated, when he was barely twenty years old, by the words and the perspectives given to it by the masters Lucien chose: Picasso, Cocteau, Saint John Perse… They lent him support, put him in touch with people and gave him self-confidence.

This boldness which allowed him to meet these great artists was also that which constantly enabled him to move ahead, and to also create a peerless event: the Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie, the first festival in the world devoted to photography, an annual and generous digression, created at a time when exchange and sharing, like creativity, were unbridled.


It is through these men and women, who were decisive encounters in his career and life, that we wanted Lucien Clergue to tell us about himself in an exhibition laid out in a radical fashion, where his life story accompanies a limited selection of his work.


François Hébel



Artistic direction and interview: François Hébel

Executive production: Anodine

The men and women of Lucien Clergue at the Atelier de Chaudronnerie, Rencontres d’Arles 2014.

logo
fr en
close post

Interview de Lucien Clergue from Les Rencontres d'Arles on Vimeo.

5 juillet 2014

Grand entretien avec Lucien Clergue

En 2014, pour les 80 ans de Lucien Clergue, nous avons voulu mettre un peu d’ordre, ramener la lecture de sa photographie à l’essentiel et faire le tri dans les histoires qu’il raconte avec faconde pour les accompagner.

Ses nus qui font sa célébrité côtoient des scènes fragiles où il projette ses propres meurtrissures à travers des scénettes d’enfants dans les ruines, des cadavres d’animaux, des dessins abstraits et éphémères sur le sable. Sa pratique de la photographie, intuitive au début, est justifiée, alors qu’il a à peine vingt ans, par les paroles et les mises en perspectives des maîtres que Lucien se choisit: Picasso, Cocteau, Saint John Perse Ils lui apportent caution, contacts, et assurance.

Cette audace qui lui permet de les rencontrer est celle qui l’aide sans cesse à se propulser, mais aussi à créer un rendez vous sans pareil: les Rencontres internationales de la photographie. Premier festival au monde consacré à la photo, parenthèse annuelle généreuse, créée à une époque où l’échange comme la créativité se débrident.

C’est à travers ces hommes et ces femmes qui ont été des rencontres déterminantes de son parcours que nous avons voulu que Lucien Clergue se raconte dans une exposition mise en scène de façon radicale, où son récit accompagne une sélection stricte de son œuvre.


François Hébel


Direction artistique et entretien : François Hébel

Production exécutive : Anodine


Les hommes et les femmes de Lucien Clergue à l’Atelier de Chaudronnerie, Rencontres d’Arles 2014.