logo
fr en
close post
29 August 2012

Jonathan Torgovnik, Intended consequences

Intended Consequences is a series of environmental portraits made in Rwanda of women that were brutally raped during the Rwandan genocide and the children they bore from those brutal encounters. Over the course of three years, I traveled to Rwanda several times, to photograph, interview, and uncover more details of the heinous crimes committed against the mothers of these children. The mothers, many whom contracted HIV/AIDS from the militiamen that raped them, felt unable to speak about their experiences for many years, silenced by the shame of rape and having a child of militiamen who in many cases were also responsible for killing their entire families.

All the interviews in this exhibition were conducted in the privacy of the women’s homes. It was impossible to prepare myself for what I was going to hear. For most of them, this is the first time they have ever spoken out about what they experienced, yet with each interview, the women shared with me intimate details of their suffering, isolation, and the daily challenges they continue to face as a direct result of the violence inflicted on them.

These mothers have lived through the most severe torture any human can endure, and in the aftermath they continue to struggle against multiple levels of trauma. Unfortunately, victims of sexual violence in Congo DRC, Darfur, and around the world are facing similar challenges today. My greatest hope is that, in reading these stories and seeing the images of the women and children in this exhibition, people will be inspired to act and work toward ensuring that similar acts of violence never happen again, and that these families can have a brighter future.

Jonathan Torgovnik




Exhibition produced with the support of the Open Society Institute, Amnesty International, Getty Images Grant for Editorial Photography, Kodak and Foundation Rwanda.


Artist presented by Tadashi Ono for the Discovery Award.

Exhibition venue: atelier de Mécanique, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
29 août 2012

Jonathan Torgovnik, Intended consequences*

Intended Consequences (Conséquences attendues) est une série de portraits réalisés au Rwanda sur des femmes ayant subi des violences sexuelles pendant le génocide, et des enfants nés de ces violences. Pendant trois ans, j’ai voyagé à plusieurs reprises au Rwanda pour photographier, interviewer et révéler les détails de ces crimes odieux, perpétrés sur les mères de ces enfants. Beaucoup d’entre elles ont contracté le VIH de ces hommes issus de milices et ont eu, pendant très longtemps, de grandes difficultés à parler de ces expériences, tues par la honte des viols et le fait de porter les enfants de rapports non choisis, alors même que les pères étaient souvent la cause du décès de tout le reste de leurs familles.

Toutes les rencontres présentées dans cette exposition ont eu lieu dans le secret des maisons de ces femmes. Il m’était impossible de me préparer à ce que j’allais entendre. Pour la plupart d’entre elles, c’était la première fois qu’elles exprimaient ce qu’elles avaient ressenti, pourtant avec chaque interview, elles partageaient avec moi des détails intimes liés à leur souffrance, leur isolement et les challenges de la vie quotidienne auxquels elle continuaient de faire face comme autant de conséquences directes de la violence qu’elles ont subi.

Ces mères ont survécu aux tortures les plus terribles et en ressentent encore aujourd’hui les traumatismes. Malheureusement, au Congo (RDC), au Darfour et dans le reste du monde, les victimes de violences sexuelles font face au même genre de challenges chaque jour. Mon plus grand espoir est que les gens, après avoir lu ces histoires et en visionnant les portraits de ces femmes et enfants, choisissent d’oeuvrer à s’assurer que de tels actes de violence ne se produisent plus jamais et d’offrir à ces femmes des jours meilleurs.

Jonathan Torgovnik

* Intended Consequences : conséquences attendues



Exposition réalisée avec le soutien de l’Open Society Institute, d’Amnesty International, du Getty Images Grant for Editorial Photography, de Kodak et de la Fondation Rwanda.



Artiste présenté par Tadashi Ono pour le Prix Découverte. 

Exposition présentée à l’atelier de Mécanique, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.