logo
fr en
close post
23 August 2012

Joséphine Michel, Halfway to White

Halfway To White is not a quest for a virginal white but the empirical and tonal exploration of a multitude of whites.

White is an overwhelmingly enigmatic subject: the same way it contains all colours, it can carry all significations and meanings. It is precisely through this complexity that this project hopes to touch upon the ambivalence, the thickness and the spectrality that white can embody or convey, more specifically through interferences, micro-textures, and loss of co-ordinates.

Occidental traditions have usually approached white as the symbol of immaculate purity, transcendent quality, or inactive emptiness. Contradicting the received idea of whiteness as a flat surface of inscription, physics highlights the complexity and composite nature of white. White light, as a condition of illumination composed of an even distribution of all the frequencies within the visible spectrum, is a dazzling experience of vision.

Innervated by the musical experiments of Salvatore Sciarrino’s Esplorazione del Bianco, made of micro-turbulences in which are revealed a multitude of variations in the thickness and matter of white, the photographs that form Halfway To White are composed of empirical whites, found in immediate surroundings, and of overexposures, deliberate whitening of the image. White is the matrix for an investigation on the variability of presence, having the ability of being both a white of dissolution and a white of emergence. White can be potential, germination; it can equally be blinding as an alert, giving form to altered states of perception. Invisibility and visibility of white: it sometimes saturates, sometimes dissolves in silence. White has this quality of being essentially unsolved.

 


Exhibition venue: Grande Halle, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
23 août 2012

Joséphine Michel, Halfway to White*

Halfway to White n’est pas la quête d’un blanc virginal mais l’exploration empirique et tonale d’une multitude de blancs. Le blanc est un sujet énigmatique : de la même manière qu’il contient toutes les couleurs, il peut revêtir toutes les significations. C’est précisément à travers cette complexité que ce projet espère suggérer l’ambivalence, l’épaisseur et la spectralité que le blanc peut contenir ou impulser, plus spécifiquement à travers les interférences, les micro textures et la perte de coordonnées.

Les traditions occidentales ont généralement approché le blanc comme le symbole d’une pureté immaculée, d’une qualité transcendante, ou d’un vide inactif. Contredisant l’idée reçue de la blancheur comme une plate surface d’inscription, les sciences physiques soulignent la complexité et la nature composite du blanc. La lumière blanche, comme condition d’illumination, composée d’une distribution régulière de toutes les fréquences dans le spectre du visible, est une éblouissante expérience visuelle.

Innervées par les expérimentations musicales du compositeur Salvatore Sciarrino dans Esplorazione del Bianco, tissées de micro-turbulences dans lesquelles sont révélées une multitude de variations d’épaisseur et de matière du blanc, les photographies qui forment Halfway To White sont composées de blancs empiriques, trouvés dans un entourage immédiat, et de surexpositions, blanchiments délibérés de l’image. Le blanc est la matrice d’une investigation sur la variabilité de la présence, ayant la faculté d’être à la fois un blanc de dissolution et un blanc d’émergence. Le blanc peut être potentiel, germination ; il est aussi apte à être aveuglant comme une alerte, donnant relief à des états de perceptions altérées. Invisibilité et visibilité du blanc : il peut saturer comme dissoudre. Le blanc a cette qualité d’être essentiellement irrésolu.

 

* Halfway to White : à mi-chemin du blanc

 

Exposition présentée à la Grande Halle, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.