logo
fr en
close post
29 June 2013

Lee Ufan, Dissonance

The Dissonance exhibition of painting and sculpture takes place in a particular context. An international artist of Korean origin, mainly living in Japan when he isn’t in his Parisian studio, or busy developing his foundation in New York, in the past few years, Lee Ufan has been sought out by the greatest art institutions and events such as Documenta, the Venise Biennial, Guggenheim Museum and the MoMA in New York. Given these conditions, coming to life again in Arles on the occasion of the publication, by Actes Sud, of his first monograph in French is an act of freedom and of friendship. What Lee Ufan considers most important will be brought together in Arles: the conditions favorable to the apparition of meaning.

Initially a writer and philosopher, Lee Ufan found his way to artistic creation through a movement, Mono-ha (the school of things), of which he was initially the theoretician before directly participating through artistic gestures and group exhibtions. For many people, this adventure was similar to Arte Povera, whether in the use of simple materials gleaned from nature, the bringing together of basic products resulting from industry (felt, rubber, steel plates), the desire to produce art from what is there, or entrusting to the power of the gesture the extra charge that produces the artistic thing.

In this trajectory, Dissonance is an entirely new exhibition where Lee Ufan recreates in painting and sculpture the relationships he seeks to make appear between forms and space. In this present manifestation, it is now a question of making the power of art appear, like a moral, a lesson in simplicity.

Dissonance refers to, in a text by Lee Ufan, a remarkable but fleeting flavour that may be encountered in an exceptional dish, but which taste is incapable of preserving. Living the encounter, the exception of forms and meaning, this is what Lee Ufan offers to Arles.


Michel Enrici, exhibition curator


Exhibition coproduced by the Méjan Association and Marseille-Provence 2013.

Exhibition venue: Capitole, Chapelle Saint-Laurent.

logo
fr en
close post
29 juin 2013

Lee Ufan, Dissonance

L’exposition de peinture et de sculpture Dissonance intervient dans un contexte particulier. Artiste international d’origine coréenne, vivant essentiellement au Japon quand il n’est pas dans son atelier parisien ou occupé à l’élaboration de sa fondation à New York, Lee Ufan a été sollicité lors de ces dernières années par les plus grandes institutions et manifestations comme la Documenta, la biennale de Venise, le musée Guggenheim ou le MoMA à New York. Dans ces conditions, renaître à Arles à l’occasion de la publication par Actes Sud de sa première monographie en français est un acte de liberté et d’amitié.

Lee Ufan, d’abord écrivain et philosophe, trouve le chemin de la création artistique à travers un mouvement, le Mono-Ha (l’école des choses) dont il est d’abord le théoricien avant de participer directement par des gestes artistiques à des expositions de groupe. Pour beaucoup, cette aventure est proche de l’Arte Povera, que ce soit dans l’utilisation d’un corpus de matériaux simples issus de la nature, dans le rapprochement de produits basiques de la production industrielle, ou dans la volonté de produire de l’art à partir de ce qui est là, et de confier à la puissance du geste le supplément qui produit la chose artistique.

Dans cette trajectoire, Dissonance est une exposition entièrement nouvelle où Lee Ufan rejoue en peinture et en sculpture les relations qu’il souhaite faire apparaître entre les formes et l’espace. Il s’agit toujours pour lui de faire apparaître la puissance de l’art, à la manière d’une morale, d’une leçon de simplicité.

Dissonance désigne dans un texte de Lee Ufan une saveur remarquable mais fugitive que le goût rencontre dans un met exceptionnel mais ne saurait conserver. Vivre la rencontre, l’exception des formes et du sens, voilà ce que Lee Ufan propose à Arles.


Michel Enrici, commissaire de l’exposition.



Exposition coproduite par l’association du Méjan et Marseille-Provence 2013.


Exposition présentée au Capitole, Chapelle Saint-Laurent, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.