logo
fr en
close post
3 July 2013

L’OCCITANE en Provence – Paulo Nozolino

BLOOM

A sunset, backstage at an opera house with its costumes and sets, a boat’s mainsail, wild and majestic animals, a child’s innocence, a field of lavender Here we have some photographic clichés, those that talented photographers avoid because it is so easy to create a touching image when the scene to be photographed is already wonderful.

Artists such as Penelope Umbrico and Corinne Vionnet have fun with this, playing with an accumulation of these sights photographed thousands of times in the same way. Why photograph the same subjects again and again?

The commission proposed to Paulo Nozolino was concerned with bringing a fresh vision of the over-photographed, of too-beautiful nature: a field of lavender in Provence.

Paulo Nozolino was invited to undertake the commission because he works solely in black and white. He therefore must capture our gaze without resorting to those saturated colours enhanced by intense sunlight that usually combine so successfully with lavender.

The challenge was total for this Portuguese photographer, a solitary poet of black on black, his images all silhouette and sensuality.

To satisfy his dark universe, his first desire was to find the creature that wreaks havoc, destroying the plant. He then focused on the way the landscape is faceted for the cultivation of lavender, searching for lines, conveying the majestic sun through shadows. Lastly, he went looking for essences, in particular in the stills of L’OCCITANE, which has made lavender its scientific spearhead, its brand image, and has now established a foundation to protect it.

The amazing result forces us to look again, and in a new way, at what we no longer wanted to see. The result is not just another document but, above all, a series of stunning photographs.

François Hébel

LAVENDER IN BLACK AND WHITE

It suffices to say its name to conjure up a shimmering field of violet waves. The soothing image and perfume of lavender are integral to Provence’s landscape and to the history of L’OCCITANE. It is impossible to imagine the deterioration of this flower that has always survived the region’s harsh climate.

And yet the cultivation of lavender is currently facing two major problems: a decline induced by phytoplasma, a disease transmitted by leafhoppers, and climate change. In recent years, the production of lavender essential oil in Provence has been reduced by half*.

Today, L’OCCITANE reinforces its commitment to preserving and promoting the heritage linked to lavender. Apart from financing a foundation to support research programmes, L’OCCITANE strives to make the greater public aware of the decline of Provence’s emblematic flower. To do so, L’OCCITANE is a partner of the 2013 Rencontres d’Arles, participating in a project especially devised by Portuguese photographer Paulo Nozolino and devoted to lavender. This new vision of the icon of Provence’s flora will then travel around the world.

‘By choosing the black and white work of photographer Paulo Nozolino to recount the tale of lavender and its decline in our region, we wanted to give priority to the creative act of the artist’s incisive gaze in comparison with a visual accumulation that supposedly reproduces reality.’


Olivier Baussan



*Information source: CIHEF – Comité Interprofessionnel des Huiles Essentielles Françaises.

Prints by Antoine Agoudjian and the artist.

Laminating by Atelier Deuxième il, Paris. Framing by Circad, Paris.

 
In association with Olivier Baussan, founder of L’OCCITANE en Provence.

Exhibition venue: Palais de Luppé.

logo
fr en
close post
3 juillet 2013

L’OCCITANE en Provence – Paulo Nozolino

LAVANDE

Un coucher de soleil, les coulisses d’une salle d’opéra avec ses costumes et décors, la grand voile d’un bateau, des animaux sauvages et majestueux, l’innocence d’un enfant, un champ de lavande, voilà bien des poncifs de la photographie. Ceux dont se détournent les photographes de talent tant il est simple de faire une image émouvante lorsque la scène photographiée est déjà merveilleuse.


Des artistes comme Penelope Umbrico ou Corinne Vionnet s’en amusent, jouant de l’accumulation de ces points de vue photographiés des milliers de fois de la même façon. Pourquoi photographier à nouveau les mêmes sujets ?

La commande proposée à Paulo Nozolino consiste à renouveler le regard sur le trop photographié, sur une nature trop belle : un champ de lavande en Provence.


Paulo Nozolino a été choisi car il ne travaille qu’en noir et blanc. Il lui faut donc retenir notre regard en se passant des couleurs saturées et écrasées de soleil qui font le succès habituel de la lavande.


Le défi est total pour ce photographe portugais, merveilleux promeneur, poète solitaire du noir sur noir, tout en silhouette et sensualité.


Pour satisfaire son univers sombre, il a d’abord voulu trouver la bête, celle qui fait des ravages, anéantit la plante. Puis il s’est intéressé au façonnage du paysage pour sa mise en culture, cherchant les lignes, traduisant par les ombres le soleil magistral. Enfin, il en a cherché les essences, notamment dans les alambics de l’Occitane, qui a fait de la lavande son fer de lance scientifique, son image de marque et désormais une fondation pour la sauver.

Le résultat, étonnant, nous force à regarder à nouveau, et autrement sans doute, ce que nous ne voulions plus voir. Le résultat n’est pas un document de plus mais avant tout des photographies.


François Hébel


LA LAVANDE EN NOIR ET BLANC

Il suffit de prononcer son nom pour faire apparaître un champ de vagues bleues. L’image et le parfum apaisant de la lavande sont indissociables du territoire de Provence et de l’histoire de L’OCCITANE. Comment imaginer l’affaiblissement de cette fleur soumise depuis toujours à la rudesse du climat provençal ?

La culture de la lavande est pourtant aujourd’hui confrontée à deux problèmes : le dépérissement à phytoplasme, une maladie transmise par un insecte dévastateur, et le réchauffement climatique. En quelques années, la Provence a ainsi vu ses productions d’huile essentielle de lavande diminuer de moitié*.


Aujourd’hui, L’OCCITANE renforce ses engagements pour la préservation et la promotion du patrimoine lié à la lavande. Au-delà du financement d’un fonds pour soutenir des programmes de recherches, L’OCCITANE souhaite sensibiliser le grand public au dépérissement de la fleur emblématique de Provence. Pour cela, L’OCCITANE s’associe aux Rencontres d’Arles 2013 en participant à la production inédite du photographe portugais Paulo Nozolino consacrée à la lavande. Ce nouveau regard sur cette icône de la flore provençale voyagera ensuite à travers le monde.


« En choisissant le travail en noir et blanc du photographe Paulo Nozolino pour raconter la lavande et son dépérissement sur notre territoire, nous avons voulu privilégier l’acte créatif du regard incisif de l’artiste par rapport à l’accumulation visuelle sensée restituer la réalité ».


Olivier Baussan

*Sources : CIHEF – Comité interprofessionnel des huiles essentielles françaises.


Tirages réalisés par Antoine Agoudjian et l’artiste.

Contre-collages réalisés par l’Atelier Deuxième il, Paris. Encadrements réalisés par Circad, Paris.

 
Avec la complicité d’Olivier Baussan, fondateur de L’OCCITANE en Provence.

Exposition présentée au Palais de Luppé, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.