logo
fr en
close post
22 May 2017

Maud Sulter, Rencontres d’Arles 2016

SYRCAS

This exhibition presents Maud Sulter’s sixteen original photomontages, a seminal body of work created in the early 1990s that served as blueprint for her celebrated large-scale series Syrcas.

Arguably the artist’s most intricate and layered body of work, Syrcas aims to revive, through the technique of photomontage, the forgotten history of the genocide of black Europeans during the Holocaust. Sulter juxtaposes canonical imagery from classical European art history with African art objects, overlaid on vintage postcards of picturesque, unspecified Alpine landscapes. The works’ visual tropes are intimately tied up with Nazi ideology and questions of racial purity as well as African presences in Europe, while the raw montage of the visual elements serves as reference to children’s scrapbooks.

The series works as a reminder of what it means to live in racial time. Racial time operates mainly through the politics of violence, conquest, occupation and displacement, and comes to rest only at the point where disavowal and erasure are complete. The visual radicality of Sulter’s Syrcas series results in a folding of space and a bending in the history of race.

The composite works of Syrcas are supported by a reproduction of Sulter’s seminal poem Blood Money (1994). Inspired by German photographer August Sanders’ Circus Workers (1926-1932), the poem is a harrowing tale of a young African woman and her family caught up in war, facing the constant threat of discrimination, violence and persecution.

‘I felt that the piece should resemble something more like a diary. I’d been to see Anne Frank’s house and liked the diary, but I wanted something more direct, more visual, and, ultimately, more personal. Then I remembered sticking pictures into a scrap-book as a child, and I saw that this was the perfect way of juxtaposing images to present the historical problems surrounding the presence of black people in Germany.’
Maud Sulter

Exhibition curator: Mark Sealy.
Exhibition produced by Autograph ABP, London.
Exhibition venue: Chapelle de la Charité.

logo
fr en
close post
22 mai 2017

Maud Sulter, Rencontres d’Arles 2016

SYRCAS

Cette exposition présente seize photomontages originaux de Maud Sulter, une oeuvre phare créée au début des années 1990 et qui servit de modèle pour sa célèbre série à grande échelle Syrcas.

Sans doute l’oeuvre la plus complexe de l’artiste, Syrcas vise, par la technique du photomontage, à remettre au jour l’histoire oubliée du génocide des Noirs européens pendant l’Holocauste. Sulter juxtapose une imagerie canonique tirée de l’histoire de l’art européenne classique avec des objets d’art africains, le tout recouvrant des cartes postales représentant des paysages alpins aussi pittoresques qu’indéterminés. Les tropes visuels de l’oeuvre sont intimement liés à l’idéologie nazie et aux questions de pureté raciales ainsi qu’aux présences africaines en Europe, tandis que le montage brutal des éléments visuels évoque davantage les scrapbooks.

Cette série nous rappelle ce que cela signifie de vivre à une époque « raciale ». Cette époque est principalement caractérisée par la mise en oeuvre d’une politique de la violence, de la conquête, de l’occupation et du déplacement, une politique qui ne connaît pas de fin jusqu’à ce que le désaveu et l’effacement soit total. La radicalité visuelle de la série Syrcas parvient dans un même geste à infléchir l’espace et l’histoire de la race.

L’oeuvre composite de Syrcas est soutenue par la reproduction du poème séminal de Sulter, Blood Money (1994). Inspiré par Circus Workers (1926-1932), travail du photographe allemand August Sander, le poème conte l’histoire déchirante d’une jeune femme africaine et de sa famille dans la guerre, condamnée à affronter en permanence la menace de la discrimination, de la violence et de la persécution.

« J’ai senti que cette oeuvre devait davantage ressembler à un journal. Lors de ma visite de la maison d’Anne Frank, j’avais aimé son journal, mais je voulais quelque chose de plus direct, de plus visuel, et, en fin de compte, de plus personnel. Alors je me suis souvenue d’avoir collé des photos dans un scrapbook quand j’étais enfant, et j’ai vu que c’était là une manière parfaite de juxtaposer des images pour présenter les problèmes historiques qui entourent la présence de personnes noires en Allemagne. »
Maud Sulter

Commissaire de l’exposition : Mark Sealy.
Exposition produite par Autograph ABP, Londres.
Exposition présentée à la Chapelle de la Charité.