logo
fr en
close post
22 May 2017

Maurizio Cattelan & Pierpaolo Ferrari, Rencontres d’Arles 2016

TOILETPAPER

In 2010, contemporary artist Maurizio Cattelan and photographer Pierpaolo Ferrari founded Toiletpaper, a magazine made up of nothing but sparely and sophisticatedly staged photographs. Describing the publication as ‘a salacious six-monthly meeting’, Cattelan and Ferrari seem to critique a society dominated by consumption and appearances with provocative pictures. Each of their painstakingly constructed images borrows from the tacky, the sublime, and the absurd to revisit the codes of fashion, advertising, and film.

‘We always start with a theme, something basic and general, like love or greed,’ explains Cattelan. ‘Then, as we start, we move like painters on canvas, layering and building. We always find ourselves in a place we didn’t expect to be. The best images are the result of improvisation. We keep homing in on what a Toiletpaper image is. Like distilling a perfume. It’s not about one particular style or time frame; what makes them Toiletpaper is a special twist. An uncanny ambiguity.’

As the worthy heirs of Hara Kiri, Cattelan and Ferrari break with normality and readily sow confusion, if not disgust. As disturbing as they are surprising, their images, featuring saturated, explosive colours that look almost too perfect, provoke fear and sow visual pleasure.

We would like to thank Andrea Albertini, Eleonora Pasqui, and the Toiletpaper team.
Publications: Toiletpaper magazine, 13 issues ; Toiletpaper Diamond Collection ; Toiletpaper Volume II ; and Toiletpaper Volume II : Platinum Collection, éditions Damiani.
Wallpapers by Processus, Paris.
Exhibition venue: Atelier des Forges.

logo
fr en
close post
22 mai 2017

Maurizio Cattelan & Pierpaolo Ferrari, Rencontres d’Arles 2016

TOILETPAPER

Fondé en 2010 par l’artiste Maurizio Cattelan et le photographe Pierpaolo Ferrari, Toiletpaper est un magazine semestriel composé exclusivement de photographies aux mises en scène épurées et sophistiquées. À travers des images provocantes, Cattelan et Ferrari, qui définissent le magazine comme « une réunion semestrielle salace », semblent critiquer une société dominée par la consommation et le règne de l’apparence. Chaque image, minutieusement construite, emprunte au kitsch, au sublime et à l’absurde pour mieux revisiter les codes de la mode, de la publicité et du cinéma.

« Nous partons toujours d’un thème, explique Maurizio Cattelan. Quelque chose de simple, de général, comme l’amour ou l’avidité. Puis nous nous mettons à travailler à la manière des peintres, en créant des couches et une structure. Et finalement nous nous retrouvons à mille lieues de là où nous pensions aboutir – les meilleures images sont toujours le résultat de l’improvisation. Nous ne perdons jamais de vue ce que doit être une image de Toiletpaper : c’est comme distiller un parfum. Il ne s’agit pas d’un style ou d’un cadre particulier mais plutôt d’une certaine tournure d’esprit, d’une ambiguïté troublante. »

En dignes héritiers d’Hara Kiri, Cattelan et Ferrari rompent avec la normalité et n’hésitent pas à semer le trouble, voire le dégoût. Aussi dérangeantes qu’étonnantes, ces représentations aux couleurs saturées et explosives, qui semblent presque trop parfaites, provoquent l’effroi et sèment le plaisir visuel.

Remerciements à Andrea Albertini et Eleonora Pasqui, ainsi qu’à toute l’équipe de Toiletpaper.
Publications : Toiletpaper magazine, 13 numéros ; Toiletpaper Diamond Collection ; Toiletpaper Volume II ; et Toiletpaper Volume II : Platinum Collection, éditions Damiani.
Wallpaper réalisé par Processus, Paris.
Exposition présentée à l’Atelier des Forges.