logo
fr en
close post
29 June 2013

Nikolai Bakharev, Relationship

Nikolai Bakharev’s cycle Relationship dates from the late 1980s to early 1990s. What were at first sight the usual ‘beach’ shots by which many photographers like Bakharev made a living in the Soviet period, providing souvenir snaps for holidaymakers, have now become classics of Russian photography, the portrait of a historical era at the moment of disintegration.

As people cast off their clothes on holiday they also abandoned the social determinacy of Soviet citizens who were raised and lived as cogs in a system that neutralised individuality, including gender differences, to the utmost degree.

These undressed people posing for a street photographer spontaneously show their desire for togetherness. It is probably no coincidence that the majority are group portraits. Curiously enough, men often lie across women’s knees, rather than the other way around. In fact, socialism as a social epidemic affected and deformed Soviet men, above all. Without the possibility to earn a living commensurate with their qualifications and endeavours, men unable to take responsibility for a wife and children were frequently reduced to infantilism or the bottle.

The situation only changed in the early 1990s, with the onset of ‘wild capitalism’, when we see the awakened macho instinct in young men reflected in Bakharev’s photographs. His series Relationship is a powerful psychological and ethnographical portrait of the Russian provinces. Apparent in these images are signs of degradation, as the consequence of a transformation in identity of the social system. At one and the same time the photographs of Nikolai Bakharev are filled with the unique warmth and wide-open emotionality characteristic only of vulnerable people that have lost their way in life.

In a country where sexuality and the naked body were censored from the mid-1930s onwards, Bakharev’s works became a significant part of unofficial culture in general, and unofficial photography in particular.


Olga Sviblova




Exhibition produced by the Multimedia Art Museum in Moscow.

Artist presented by Olga Sviblova for the Discovery Award. 

Exhibition venue: Atelier de Mécanique, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.

logo
fr en
close post
29 juin 2013

Nikolai Bakharev, Relationship

Le cycle Relationship de Nikolai Bakharev s’étend de la fin des années 1980 au début des années 1990. Ces clichés « de plage » à première vue banals, avec lesquels bien des photographes comme Bakharev gagnaient leur vie sous le régime soviétique en fournissant des photos-souvenirs aux vacanciers, sont aujourd’hui des classiques de la photographie russe. Elles sont le portrait d’une époque et d’une nation alors en pleine désintégration.

Lorsque les gens se déshabillaient en vacances, ils quittaient par la même la détermination sociale des citoyens soviétiques, embrigadés qu’ils étaient dans un système qui neutralisait leur identité, y compris sexuelle, jusqu’au dernier degré.

Ces individus dénudés posant pour un photographe de rue manifestent un plaisir spontané à poser ensemble. Ce n’est certainement pas une coïncidence si la majorité de ces clichés sont des portraits de groupe. Curieusement, ce sont souvent les hommes qui sont allongés sur les genoux des femmes, plutôt que l’inverse. De fait, telle une épidémie sociale, le socialisme affectait et déformait surtout les hommes de la nation soviétique. Dans l’impossibilité de percevoir un salaire à la hauteur de leurs qualifications et de leur mérite, incapables d’assumer femme et enfants, les hommes cédaient souvent à l’infantilisme ou à l’alcool.

La situation a perduré jusqu’au début des années 1990 et l’émergence d’un « capitalisme sauvage » qui a vu réapparaître l’instinct macho chez les jeunes hommes photographiés par Bakharev. Sa série Relationship est un puissant portrait psychologique et ethnographique des provinces russes. Des signes de déterioration, reflets de la transformation du système social, sont visibles sur ces images. Néanmoins, les photographies de Nikolai Bakharev possèdent une chaleur unique et une charge émotionnelle intense qu’on ne retrouve que chez les individus vulnérables ayant perdu tous leurs repères.

Dans un pays où la sexualité et le corps nu ont été censurés dès le milieu des années 1930, les travaux de Bakharev sont devenu une part importante de la culture non officielle en générale et de la photographie non officielle en particulier.


Olga Sviblova




Exposition produite par le Multimedia Art Museum de Moscou.


Artiste présenté par
Olga Sviblova pour le Prix Découverte. 

Exposition présentée à l’Atelier de Mécanique, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.