logo
fr en
close post
28 August 2012

Olivier Cablat, Egypt 3000

The Egypt 3000 project deals with the complex relationship between contemporary Egypt and its glorious past. The project began to take shape between October 2003 and June 2004, when I was working on a CNRS programme in Karnak, in the south of Egypt. The programme mainly consisted in identifying and photographing objects found in the course of archaeological digs. It also involved taking reportage shots of the various excavation and restoration activities going on around the Temple of Amun, as well as making complex digital montages to reconstitute the walls of the temple to serve as a study tool for the Egyptologists.


In parallel with this work, I was collecting a lot of images of everyday Egyptian objects, and these allowed me to continue with some artistic research that I had been working on earlier in the South of France.


My initial intention in the Egypt 3000 project was to base things on raw material from everyday life in contemporary Egypt, making no hierarchical judgements about its nature, and to apply the same treatment to it as scientific research does for ancient artefacts.

The project came together over a number of years, during and after my trip. These were years of construction, re-composition, and a search for a documentary form free of the systematic quality of a series and without the condescending aspect of typical “travel photography”.

The project ended up as three distinct sets: Towards a Contemporary Archaeology, Karnak/Luxor, 2004-2009 – these are reproductions of the objects found in Karnak and Luxor and they are given the same scientific treatment as ancient objects; secondly, 300 days and a day, 2003-2011, which is a documentary series relating 300 days of documentary research and containing a blend of typological series and complex digital photo-montages with post-Orientalist references; and thirdly, Enter the pyramid, 2006-2012, a digital documentary installation composed in HTML with a set of images found on the Internet using the keyword “pyramid”.



Exhibition venue: Forges, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
28 août 2012

Olivier Cablat, Egypt 3000

Le projet Egypt 3000 traite de la relation complexe que l’Égypte contemporaine entretient avec son glorieux passé. Le projet a pris naissance entre octobre 2003 et juin 2004, alors que je travaillais pour un programme du CNRS à Karnak, dans le sud de l’Égypte. Le programme consistait principalement à identifier et photographier des objets trouvés lors de fouilles archéologiques. Il s’agissait également de réaliser des prises de vue de reportage sur les différentes activités de fouille et de restauration réalisées autour du temple d’Amon, ainsi que des montages numériques complexes qui reconstituaient les parois du temple et servaient de matériel d’étude pour les égyptologues.

En parallèle de ce travail, je collectais de nombreux objets et images, qui m’ont permis de mettre en place des recherches artistiques, dans la continuité de ce que j’avais pu réaliser précédemment dans le sud de la France.

L’intention initiale du projet Egypt 3000 était de me baser sur une matière première issue du quotidien égyptien contemporain, sans jugement hiérarchique sur sa nature et d’y appliquer le traitement opéré par la recherche scientifique sur les objets antiques.

Le projet s’est construit sur plusieurs années, pendant et après mon voyage Des années de construction, de recomposition, de poursuite d’une forme documentaire affranchie du systématisme de la série ou de condescendance propre à la « Photographie de voyage ».

Le projet a ainsi pris la forme de trois ensembles distincts : Pour une archéologie contemporaine, Karnak/Louxor, 2004-2009, les reproductions d’objets trouvés à Karnak et Louxor et traités sur le même mode que les objets antiques par la recherche scientifique, 300 days and a day, 2003-2011, une série documentaire relatant 300 jours de recherche documentaire et mêlant séries typologiques, photomontages numériques complexes aux références post-orientalistes et Enter the pyramid, 2006-2012, une installation numérique documentaire, composée en HTML avec un ensemble d’images trouvées sur Internet à l’aide du mot-clé « pyramid ».


Exposition présentée aux Forges, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.