logo
fr en
close post
24 August 2012

Olivier Metzger, Smile (Forever)

Evocative smiles firmly outlined on glacial and ambivalent pouting lips. She wants to live as though she were twenty years younger. In search of renewed youthfulness, she is as old as the other’s gaze makes her.

Vivacious and wanting, tinged with artifice but without making the mistake of pathetic surgery and frozen narcissism, time seems to slide on her smile in a consumerist display, assumed and henceforth permitted.

She is one of those active women who, in their pomp, endorse a new surge of vitality and come to question the notion of identity. These women must in fact invent their new lives. They have no reference framework because ‘those who preceded them were already “old” at this age, or had already passed away’ (Danièle Laufer, Femmes Vintages, Éditions Michel Lafon).

New figures, creatures, it is therefore up to them to invent their role in our society on the move.

Between a new kind of documentary and fictional narrative, we follow a complex and endearing character who leads us to her favourite haunts, now become scenery, in Europe or on the other side of the Atlantic. She leads us in her wake as images of daytime scenes and nocturnal tableaux go by, from her intimate sphere to public spaces where she appears, exposes herself and tries to find herself in an ultimate confrontation, delivered up to the spectator.

Olivier Metzger


Exhibition venue: Atelier des Forges, parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
24 août 2012

Olivier Metzger, Smile (Forever)*

De sourires évocateurs volontairement prononcés aux moues glaciales ambiguës, elle veut vivre comme si elle avait vingt ans de moins. En quête d’une seconde jeunesse, elle a l’âge du regard de l’autre.

Vivante et désirante, teintée d’artifices mais sans tomber dans les travers de la chirurgie pathétique et du narcissisme figé, le temps semble glisser sur son sourire dans un déploiement consumériste, assumé et dorénavant permis.

Elle fait partie de ces femmes actives qui endossent dans leurs apparats un nouvel élan de vitalité et vient questionner la notion d’identité. Celles-ci doivent en effet avant tout inventer leur nouvelle vie. Elles n’ont pas de cadre de référence puisque « celles qui les ont précédées étaient déjà vieilles à cet âge ou avaient déjà trépassé. » (D. Laufer à propos des Femmes Vintages, éditions Michel Lafon).

Nouvelles figures, créatures, à elles donc d’inventer leur rôle dans notre société en mouvement.

Entre nouveau documentaire et narration fictionnelle, nous suivons ici un personnage complexe et attachant qui nous conduit sur ses terres de prédilection devenues décors, en Europe ou de l’autre côté de l’Atlantique, nous entraînant au fil des images de scènes diurnes en tableaux nocturnes, de sa sphère intime jusqu’aux espaces publics où elle apparaît, s’expose et se cherche dans une ultime confrontation, livrée au spectateur.

Olivier Metzger

* Smile (Forever) : sourire (toujours)


 

Exposition présentée à l’Atelier des Forges, parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.