logo
fr en
close post
29 August 2012

Sammy Baloji, KOLWEZI

2006, the first democratic elections take place in the Congo. The same year, we note a strong demand for copper and cobalt. Several international investors make a rush for Katanga. Among them, China promises to restore Congolese infrastructure in exchange for the exploitation of Katanga’s mineral resources. Following on from the Memory series (2004-6) about Gécamines, the state mining company, since 2009 I have been documenting artisanal mining in Kolwezi, in Katanga. This form of mining appeared after Gécamines’ collapse and, supported by the government, has become vital for all Congolese: former workers, their families, unemployed students, those who fled the war…

 

Because of economic and territorial instability, miners live in tarpaulin shantytowns near the mining zones. These living spaces and ‘mines’ are temporary and they can suddenly become the property of industrialists when contracts are signed between the state and investors.

The extraction takes place in mining sites once bored by industrial machines. These pits can be more than 100 metres deep. Armed with spades, lamps and raffia sacks, the miners go down looking for heterogenite (a material containing copper and cobalt). To extract it, they must excavate tunnels 60 to 100 metres deep before reaching the seam (the layer of earth containing the heterogenite). After which, they climb back up to the surface, carrying loads of more than 50 kilos. The miners are frequently victims of cave-ins, but these loses don’t stop the march towards gold.

In the shantytowns, I was often struck by the presence of Chinese posters decorating the interior facades of bars, hotels, houses and hairdressers. These posters and montages feature large Western or Asian cities. A kind of Congo of tomorrow. Hence I integrate these posters in my work like a utopian extension of a future springing up from the artisanal mining, exporting of minerals and the continual displacement of populations.

 

Sammy Baloji



Artist presented by John Fleetwood for the Discovery Award.

Exhibition venue: Atelier de Mécanique, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
29 août 2012

Sammy Baloji, KOLWEZI

2006, les premières élections démocratiques ont lieu au Congo. La même année, on note une forte demande de cuivre et de cobalt. Plusieurs investisseurs internationaux se ruent vers le Katanga. Parmi eux, la Chine promet de réhabiliter l’infrastructure congolaise en échange de l’exploitation des ressources minières katangaises. Suite à la série Mémoire réalisée sur la Gécamines (2004-2006), je documente depuis 2009 l’extraction minière artisanale à Kolwezi, une des régions du Katanga. Apparue peu après la chute de la Gécamines, l’exploitation artisanale, soutenue par le gouvernement, est devenue vitale pour tous les Congolais : d’anciens travailleurs, leurs familles, des étudiants au chômage, ceux qui ont fui la guerre

 

Du fait de cette instabilité économique et territoriale, les mineurs habitent des cités de bâches à proximité des zones d’extraction. Ces espaces d’habitation et d’exploitation sont temporaires et peuvent devenir soudainement propriété des industriels suite aux contrats signés entre l’État et les investisseurs.

L’extraction se déroule dans des sites miniers autrefois forés par des engins industriels, pouvant se situer à plus de 100 mètres de profondeur. Munis de pioches, lampes et sacs de raphia, les mineurs descendent à la recherche de l’hétérogénite (matière contenant cuivre et cobalt). Pour l’extraire, ils doivent excaver des tunnels de 60 à 100 mètres de profondeur, avant d’atteindre le filon (couche de terre contenant l’hétérogénite). Ensuite, ils remontent, chargés de plus de 50 kilos. Ils sont fréquemment victimes d’éboulements mais ces pertes n’arrêtent pas la marche vers l’or.


Dans ces cités de bâches, j’ai été frappé par la présence des affiches chinoises qui décorent les façades intérieures des bars, hôtels, maisons, salons de coiffure Ces affiches et photomontages illustrent de grandes villes occidentales ou asiatiques. Sorte de Congo de demain. Je les intègre donc dans mon travail comme le prolongement utopique d’un futur né de l’exploitation artisanale, de l’exportation des minerais et du déplacement continu des populations.

 

Sammy Baloji

 

Artiste présenté par John Fleetwood pour le Prix Découverte 2012.

Exposition présentée à l’Atelier de Mécanique, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.