logo
fr en
close post
3 August 2017

Stephanie Kiwitt, Discovery Award, Rencontres d’Arles 2016

ARTIST PRESENTED BY FLORIAN EBNER
MÁJ/MY

Stephanie Kiwitt carries on a documentary tradition that is critical and conceptual at the same time. Formal diversity and graphic elegance distinguish her approach. Through her constellations of images, the urban space, used as a fi eld of research, becomes not only abstract but also a mental space attesting to our consumer society’s desires.
Black and white images dialogue with each other in her recent work Máj/My. The artist compares Prague’s capitalist present with the world of yesterday: its Communist past and even its surreal imagery. The new system’s objects and promises look like the real chimera of our time.
Florian Ebner

The title of my new work, Máj/My, is taken from the name of a department store in Prague, which was called ‘Máj’—Czech for ‘May’—from the 1970s until the collapse of the communist regime, and which has been run under the name ‘My’ since 2009. The phonetic consonance of the two words, which each represent diff erent economic and politic systems, becomes a marketing strategy. The socialistic May mutates into the neo-liberal possessive pronoun, fi rst person singular. A formal trick, which replaces the old name inaudibly with the new one, while at the same time allowing the old name to continue resonating in the new. My photographic position changes between documentary soberness and a subjective, interpretive view. The pictures taken in Prague of advertisements, of active and empty goods displays, of commodities and used objects are placed in relation to each other and comment on one another. Each picture continues to resonate in the next.
Stephanie Kiwitt

Exhibition venue: Grande Halle.

logo
fr en
close post
3 août 2017

Stephanie Kiwitt, Prix Découverte, Rencontres d’Arles 2016

ARTISTE PRÉSENTÉE PAR FLORIAN EBNER
MÁJ/MY

Le travail de Stephanie Kiwitt s’inscrit dans une tradition photographique documentaire à la fois critique et conceptuelle. Son approche se distingue par la diversité formelle et l’élégance graphique de son regard. À travers ses constellations d’images, l’espace urbain, utilisé comme terrain de recherche, devient abstrait mais aussi espace mental témoin des désirs de notre société de consommation.
Dans son travail récent Máj/My, entièrement en noir et blanc où les images dialoguent les unes avec les autres, Stephanie Kiwitt confronte le présent capitaliste de Prague avec le monde d’antan, son passé socialiste et même son imagerie surréaliste. Les objets et les promesses du nouveau système semblent être les vraies chimères de notre temps.
Florian Ebner

Le titre de mon nouveau travail, Máj/ My, est emprunté au nom d’un grand magasin pragois qui, des années 1970 à la chute du régime communiste, s’est appelé « Máj » (« mai » en tchèque) avant de devenir « My » en 2009. La sonorité commune des deux mots, qui renvoient à des systèmes économiques et politiques bien distincts, devient stratégie marketing. Le Mai socialiste se transforme ainsi en un pronom possessif néolibéral à la première personne du singulier, l’anglais « My ». Cette astuce formelle permet de substituer de manière inaudible un nouveau nom à l’ancien tout en faisant perdurer la sonorité ancienne. Ma posture photographique oscille entre sobriété documentaire et regard subjectif et construit. Prises à Prague, les photographies de publicités, d’étalages garnis ou vides, de marchandises neuves ou d’objets déjà usagés, sont mises en regard et se répondent mutuellement. Une image entre en résonance avec la suivante.
Stephanie Kiwitt

Exposition présentée à la Grande Halle.