logo
fr en
close post
6 July 2013

Studio Fouad, Beirut and Van-Leo, Cairo

Shortly after its creation in 1997, the Arab Image Foundation started collecting photographs from anonymous, amateur and professional photographers. The first two major collections gathered from studio photographers were those of Van-Leo in Cairo and Adib Ghorab in Beirut, both presented in this exhibition through a selection of hand-colored studio portraits.


STUDIO FOUAD

Born in Jaffa, and exiled from Palestine in 1948, Adib and Fouad Bendali Ghorab settled in Lebanon where they were trained as photographers by their uncle. A few months later, they rented a small photographic studio in downtown Beirut. In 1954, they became the appointed photographers of the Oriental lodge for the freemasons and opened a larger studio in Accaoui, which was known as Studio Fouad. Over the years they became renowned for their hand-coloring portraits. In an interview given a year before his death in 1996, Fouad explained his approach: “the work of the photographer consists of controlling light and knowing how to reflect it. I mainly concentrate on essential features in the face, such as the eyes and mouth, which are major determinants of beauty in someone’s face. Then I work on details that are particular to the model’s face, and light the scene accordingly”.

VAN-LEO

Born in Ceyhan, Turkey, in 1921 as Levon Boyadjian, he moved with his family to Cairo, Egypt, in 1924. Over more than 50 years, Van-Leo took thousands of portraits of customers, friends, and acquaintances at large. Having opened his first studio with his brother, Angelo, in the living room of the family home, the two catered to entertainers stationed in Cairo during the Second World War. When the brothers parted ways in 1947, Van-Leo would move down the street to occupy the former Studio Metro, eventually changing its name to “Van-Leo: Art Photographer” and launching the practice for which he would come to be known.

Some of these portraits—like that of the singer Farid El Atrache lounging in his elaborate apartment, or the iconic entertainer Sherihane dressed as a cowgirl—were sensitively hand-colored. While Van-Leo insisted that he never used assistants, there is an ambiguity in the record as some have offered that he sent his photographs out of the studio to get colored. A few names have emerged, but like so much about his life and work, much rests in a glorious ambiguity.

The Arab Image Foundation’s members Karl Bassil and Negar Azimi are currently at work on a book and exhibition project about the late photographer’s life and work.

Zeina Arida and François Hébel, curators of the exhibition.


Exhibition venue: Espace Van Gogh, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.

logo
fr en
close post
6 juillet 2013

Studio Fouad, Beyrouth et Van-Leo, Le Caire

Peu après sa création en 1997, la Fondation arabe pour l’image commença à collecter des images de photographes anonymes, amateurs et professionnels. Les deux premières grandes collections provenant de photographes de studio furent celles de Van-Leo au Caire et d’Adib Ghorab à Beyrouth, présentées dans cette exposition à travers une sélection de portraits réalisés en studio et colorisés à la main.


STUDIO FOUAD

Nés à Jaffa, Adib et Fouad Bendali Ghorab quittèrent la Palestine en 1948 pour s’installer au Liban, où ils furent formés à la photographie par leur oncle. Quelques mois plus tard, ils louaient un petit studio de photographie dans le centre de Beyrouth. En 1954, ils devinrent les photographes officiels de la loge maçonnique d’Orient et ouvrirent un studio plus important à Accaoui connu sous le nom de Studio Fouad. Au fil des ans, ils acquirent une solide réputation grâce à leurs portraits colorisés à la main. Dans un entretien accordé un an avant sa mort en 1996, Fouad expliquait ainsi sa démarche : « Le travail du photographe consiste à maîtriser la lumière et à savoir comment la réfléchir. Je me concentre sur les principaux traits du visage, comme les yeux et la bouche, qui sont les éléments déterminants de la beauté d’un visage. Puis je travaille sur les détails propres au visage du modèle et j’ajuste l’éclairage en conséquence. »

VAN-LEO


Né en 1921 à Ceyhan, en Turquie, Levon Boyadjian a émigré avec sa famille au Caire en 1924. En plus d’un demi-siècle, Van-Leo a réalisé des milliers de portraits de clients, d’amis et de connaissances. Son premier studio, ouvert avec son frère Angelo dans le salon de la maison familiale, réalisait le portrait des artistes de music-hall du Caire durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Lorsque les deux frères se séparèrent en 1947, Van-Leo emménagea un peu plus loin dans la rue, dans l’ancien Studio Metro qu’il renommera par la suite « Van-Leo : photographe d’art ». C’est là qu’il se consacra à la pratique qui allait faire sa réputation.

Certains de ces portraits – comme ceux du chanteur Farid El Atrache se prélassant dans son appartement raffiné ou de la célèbre actrice Sherihane habillée en cowgirl – ont été délicatement colorisés à la main. Si Van-Leo a toujours nié avoir eu recours à des assistants, l’ambiguïté persiste, certains affirmant qu’il sous-traitait la colorisation de ses photographies. Plusieurs noms ont été évoqués mais, à l’image d’une grande partie de sa vie et de son travail, l’essentiel reste masqué par une glorieuse ambiguïté.

Membres de la Fondation arabe pour l’image, Karl Bassil et Negar Azimi travaillent actuellement à un projet de livre et d’exposition sur la vie et l’uvre du photographe.

 

Exposition présentée à l’Espace Van Gogh, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.