logo
fr en
close post
27 August 2012

A Laboratory for first time experiments: the Société Française de Photographie collections.

Established in 1854 and state-approved in 1892, the SFP is one of the oldest photographers societies still active and one of the most important private collections of historical photo-graphs in Europe. Bringing together objects, images, books, periodicals and handwritten documents, the collection, today listed a historic monument, was formed according to its member’s activities: technical, theoretical and visual experimentations. In fact, although these early photographers often patented their innovations, they more regularly made their discover-ies official by presenting them at the SFP, followed by the publication of an article in the society’s Bulletin and donations of prints and objects.

Hence the SFP conserves the first photolithography by Alphonse Poitevin, the experi-mentations of colour photography by Louis Ducos du Hauron and his early research into ana-glyphs, and the Lumière brothers’ first autochrome tests.


To the technical ‘first times’ (developing a process or a camera) are added the ‘first time’ uses (applications), among which figure numerous attempts at snapshot photography, the first images of the Earth seen from above – aerostatic photography – by Paul Nadar, along with the successful attempts at the transmission of images from a distance by the Bélinographe.


The actual idea of conserving photographic innovations of every kind for the future has been central to the SFP’s missions since its inception. Hence today, there are many prac-tices and uses of the image that have followed on from the multiple tentative steps of which the collection conserves the memory and hesitations. But first times were sometimes also fail-ures and several examples, now illegible, have not resisted the vagaries of their period or of time.


Apart from the socio-historical interest of these images, today these incunabular of photography also invite us to an aesthetic reading of ‘photographic experimentation’. Offered in all kinds of mediums, manipulated and bearing the traces of these manipulations, annotated on both front and back, and reproduced in several forms, these images have fed and continue to feed the photographic imaginations of which they form a precious archaeology.


Luce Lebart, curator, in charge of the SFP collections


Exhibition produced in collaboration with the Société Française de Photographie (SFP).

Exhibition venue: Musée départemental de l’Arles antique, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
27 août 2012

Un laboratoire des premières fois, les collections de la Société Française de Photographie

Fondée en 1854, reconnue d’utilité publique en 1892, la Société française de photographie (SFP) est la plus ancienne société de photographes encore active et l’une des plus importantes collections privées de photographies historiques en Europe. Rassemblant objets, images, ouvrages, périodiques et documents manuscrits, la collection, aujourd’hui classée monument historique, s’est constituée au gré des activités de ses membres : expérimentations techniques, théoriques ou visuelles. En effet, si les opérateurs brevetaient souvent leurs innovations, ils officialisaient plus régulièrement leurs découvertes par une présentation publique à la SFP suivie d’une publication dans son Bulletin et de dons d’épreuves ou d’objets.


C’est ainsi que la SFP conserve la première photolithographie d’Alphonse Poitevin, les expérimentations de photographies en couleur de Ducos du Hauron et ses recherches précoces sur les anaglyphes ou les premiers essais d’autochromes des frères Lumière.

Aux « premières fois » techniques (mis au point d’un procédé ou d’un appareil) s’ajoutent les « premières fois » d’usages (applications) parmi lesquelles figurent de nombreux essais de photographie instantanée, les premières images de la terre vue du ciel – la photographie aérostatique – de Paul Nadar ou encore les essais réussis de transmission d’images à distance par le bélinographe.

L’idée même de conserver pour le futur les innovations photographiques en tous genres est au coeur des missions de la SFP depuis son origine. Aussi, nombreuses sont aujourd’hui les pratiques et usages de l’image ayant découlées des multiples tâtonnements dont la collection conserve la mémoire et les hésitations. Mais les premières fois sont aussi parfois des échecs et plusieurs échantillons illisibles aujourd’hui n’ont pas résisté aux aléas du temps et de leur époque.

Au-delà de l’intérêt socio-historique de ces images, c’est aussi à une lecture esthétique de « l’expérimental photographique » que nous invitent aujourd’hui ces incunables de la photographie. Offertes sur toutes sortes de supports, manipulées et portant les traces de ces manipulations, annotées au recto comme au verso, reproduites sous plusieurs formes, ces images ont nourri et continuent de nourrir les imaginaires photographiques dont elles forment une précieuse archéologie.

 

Luce Lebart, commissaire d’exposition et responsable des collections de la SFP.


Exposition réalisée en collaboration avec la Société française de photographie (SFP).

Exposition présentée au musée départemental de l’Arles antique, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.