logo
fr en
close post
28 June 2013

Yasmine Eid-Sabbagh & Rozenn Quéré, Possible and imaginary lives

This is the story of four strong and feisty woman, exiled to the four corners of the globe, four Palestinian-Lebanese sisters who traversed the 20th century. It is a story somewhere between documentary and fiction, biography and drama, based on family photographs and taped interviews—a narrative of both actual and imagined events.

It is a reflection upon ways of gathering, sifting, listening to and making stories and words emerge. It is a reflection upon how to recreate these stories and words in the present, in the most vivid possible way, by combining the inner experiences of these women with the lived experiences of the gatherings. Herein is a reinterpretation of reality tinged with tenderness and humour. The four women’s and the two photographers’ imagination is at the core of this work.

Jocelyne, the oldest sister, lived in Cairo; Frieda, the youngest, went into exile in Paris; Stella left Lebanon at the time of the civil war for New York; Graziella, her twin, is the only one has remained behind in Beirut.

Far from being a factual or historical portrait of Graziella and her sisters, Possible and Imaginary Lives is an attempt to convey the eccentricities and the imagination of these women so as to give their imaginings the same status as reality. In other words, by combining old family photographs and text, we were not aiming to write their story, but to write their myth.

Yasmine Eid-Sabbagh and Rozenn Quéré



Initial project produced for the Festival Images (Vevey), 2012.

Prints by PCP Photographie, Paris.

Vies possibles et imaginaires was published by Éditions Photosynthèses, Arles, 2012.


Artistes nominées par Zeina Arida pour le Prix Découverte.

Exhibition venue: Atelier de Mécanique, Parc des Ateliers.

logo
fr en
close post
28 juin 2013

Yasmine Eid-Sabbagh & Rozenn Quéré, Vies possibles et imaginaires

C’est l’histoire de quatre femmes fortes et truculentes, exilées aux quatre coins du monde, quatre soeurs Palestino-libanaises qui ont traversé l’histoire du XXe siècle. C’est une histoire entre documentaire et fiction, entre biographie et théâtre, qui s’appuie sur des photographies de famille et des entretiens sonores, sur le récit d’événements vécus et fantasmés.

C’est une réflexion sur une manière de récolter, de fouiner, d’écouter, de faire émerger des histoires et des mots, et de les recréer au présent, de la façon la plus vivante possible, en mêlant la subjectivité de ces femmes à la nôtre. Ce que nous proposons là, c’est une relecture de la réalité teintée de tendresse et d’humour, qui s’inscrit dans un parti pris de proximité ; une enquête au coeur de laquelle nous plaçons l’imagination des unes et des autres.

Jocelyne, l’aînée des soeurs, vivait au Caire ; Frieda, la benjamine, s’est exilée à Paris ; Stella a quitté le Liban en guerre pour New York ; Graziella, sa jumelle, est la seule à être restée à Beyrouth.

Loin du portrait objectif ou historique de Graziella et ses soeurs, nous nous sommes attachées, avec Vies possibles et imaginaires, à traduire l’extravagance et l’imagination de ces femmes, à donner à leurs affabulations le même statut qu’au réel. En d’autres termes, à travers l’articulation du texte et de la photographie d’archive, nous n’avons pas cherché à écrire leur histoire : nous avons voulu écrire leur mythe.



Yasmine Eid-Sabbagh et Rozenn Quéré

 


Projet initial produit dans le cadre du Festival Images (Vevey), 2012.

Tirages réalisés par PCP Photographie, Paris.

Vies possibles et imaginaires est publié aux Éditions Photosynthèses, Arles, 2012.



Artistes nominées par Zeina Arida pour le Prix Découverte.

Exposition présentée à l’Atelier de Mécanique, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2013.