logo
fr en
close post
29 August 2012

Zanele Muholi, So they have eyes to see

My work is a visual exploration of making/mapping/preserving radical black lesbian and queer (LGBTI : lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, intersex) visual history in post-Apartheid South Africa. I explore how visual activism can be employed by socially, culturally, politically and economically marginalized individuals to create sites of resistance as well as to develop a critical gaze from our own perspective.

 

This portfolio represents four different series produced over several years in various South African townships and beyond. From Beulahs and Transfigures, features Ms D’vine (2007), Martin Machapa (2007), Christina Mavuma & Tinky (2010). These two series briefly distinguish between sexual orientation and gender expression. They help express how trans bodies can claim their space and articulate their gender expression within the homo-queer as well as the heterosexist spheres that tend to exclude the T’s and I’s embedded in the LGBTI acronym.

With the Faces & Phases (2007-2012) series, I intended to show our emerging South African black lesbian aesthetics through portraiture. Positive images of us within women’s and queer archives are almost non-existent. Faces express the persons and Phases signifies the transition from one stage of sexuality or gender expression and experience to another. In Faces & Phases I feature some individuals who are affected and survived lesbophobic attacks. One of our collective painful experiences as a community is the loss of friends and acquaintances through disease and hate crimes.

Homophobia / queerphobia / transphobia / xenophobia and hate crimes have silenced and sanctioned our voices. In Isilumo Siyaluma (2006-2012) I bring attention to the epidemic of hate crimes – ‘curative rapes’ and brutal murders – that has escalated in the past few years in SA, claiming many black lesbian, gay men and trans live in the townships. In this series I drew motifs with my menstrual blood to express the anger and loss of losing friends, acquaintances, lovers and fellow activists through brutal murders.

Zanele Muholi


Artist presented by John Fleetwood for the Discovery Award. 

Exhibition venue: Atelier de Mécanique, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
29 août 2012

Zanele Muholi, So they have eyes to see*

Mon travail est une exploration qui vise à créer / tracer les contours / protéger l’histoire visuelle des lesbiennes et queer noir-africains (LGBTI : lesbiennes, gays, bisexuels, transgenres, intersexes) après l’Apartheid, en Afrique du Sud. J’étudie la façon dont les activistes – socialement, culturellement, politiquement et économiquement marginalisés – peuvent utiliser les images pour créer des espaces de résistances et développer leur regard critique.

 

Cet ensemble de photographies comprend quatre séries produites sur plusieurs années, dans différents townships sud-africains et leurs banlieues. Dans Beulahs et Transfigures, on retrouve Ms D’vine (2007), Martin Machapa (2007), Christina Mavuma & Tinky (2010). Ces deux séries créent une distinction rapide entre l’orientation sexuelle et la façon dont le genre s’exprime. Elles explicitent la manière dont, chez les transsexuels, le corps doit réclamer son propre espace et exprimer sa propre perception du genre, au sein des homos queer comme des sphères hétéro sexistes, car elles ont tendance à exclure les T et les I de l’acronyme LGBTI.

Dans la série Faces & Phases (Visages et phases), réalisée entre 2007 et aujourd’hui, j’essaie de montrer, au travers de portraits, les valeurs esthétiques montantes au sein des groupes lesbiens noirs sud-africains. Il n’existe que peu d’images positives de nous dans les archives féministes ou queer. Faces évoquent les personnes et Phases symbolise la transition entre un premier stade de la sexualité et de l’expression du genre vers un second. Dans Faces & Phases, je photographie plusieurs personnes qui ont eu à subir des attaques lesbiano-phobiques. L’une des expériences les plus douloureuses auxquelles notre communauté fait face est la perte de certains de nos amis ou de nos connaissances – victimes de la haine et la discrimination de certains –, aujourd’hui malades ou décédés.

L’homophobie / la queerphobie / la transphobie / la xénophobie et les crimes de ce type ont rendu notre parole inaudible. Dans Isilumo Siyaluma (2006-12), j’ai voulu insister sur la recrudescence de crimes en Afrique du Sud – ‘viols à vertue curative’ comme meurtres violents –, rappelant que de nombreux noirs, lesbiennes, gay ou trans vivent dans les townships. Dans ces séries, j’ai dessiné des motifs avec mon sang menstruel pour exprimer la peur ressentie et les meurtres commis sur mes amis, connaissances, amants, et compagnons de militantisme, tous perpétrés de sang-froid.

 

Zanele Muholi

 

* So they have eyes to see : ils ont des yeux pour voir

 

Artiste présentée par John Fleetwood pour le Prix Découverte. 

Exposition présentée à l’Atelier de Mécanique, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.