logo
fr en
close post
5 July 2012

Anni Leppälä – Discovery Award, Rencontres d’Arles 2012

Photographs can be viewed like fixed points in the process of change and alteration, they allow the viewer to observe them freely and to step closer. One can gather trust and confidence in recognising them but simultaneously photographs have another kind of nature; a side turning towards the hidden and the unidentified.

It´s difficult to draw a strict line between fiction and reality. Memories and observations become living experiences and fiction supplements them. Recognition is the intermediary operator between them. The figure of a girl or a woman is not a certain or specific person, but more like a character who sometimes appears in different scales – as a paper figure or something between a person and an image.

What finally becomes recognised in the image can be something “outside” of the image, something out-of-sight, imperceptible. In this momentary experience something is revealed which is not “that-has-been” but rather something that exists and is present now and here. This attempt to go beyond the surface of the image is to find things that, at first, seem familiar but also have connections to other meanings than which they are directly representing. A potential of things that may be found only through an image.

Photography gives an intriguing aspect to this as it uses the visible world as its material. It enables those “fixed points” of the visible to be transformed into the imaginary space. This returns back to the questions about the “invisible” in photographs, what can be found beneath, what is unseen but still there.

The entities I am working with are constantly in a state of change and alteration, meaning that they are not separate series fixed to a certain way of presenting. For different exhibitions I am adding new pieces in and leaving others out. It is essential how the images relate to each other, how they affect each other when they are placed in an exhibition space.

Anni Leppälä



Artist presented by Jyrki Parantainen.

Exhibition venue: Atelier de Mécanique, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
5 juillet 2012

Anni Leppälä, Prix Découverte des Rencontres d’Arles 2012

Les images sont comme des points fixes au coeur d’un processus de changement et d’altération, le spectateur a la possibilité de les observer librement, de s’en approcher. Elles ont un aspect rassurant, dans la mesure où elles sont reconnaissables et, en même temps, elles sont d’une autre nature, possèdent une face cachée, impossible à identifier.

Il est difficile de tracer la ligne qui sépare le réel du fictionnel. Le fait que nous reconnaissions des éléments sert d’intermédiaire entre ces deux états. Les corps – fille ou femme – ne sont pas des personnes spécifiques mais plutôt des personnages, parfois à plusieurs échelles, figures de papier entre image et être vivant.

Ce que l’on finit par reconnaître dans l’image peut lui être « extérieur », quelque chose qu’il est difficile d’apercevoir, de presque imperceptible. Dans cet instant fugace se révèle, non pas « ce qui a été », mais plutôt ce qui existe, présent, ici et maintenant. Cette tentative d’aller au-delà de la surface de l’image revient à choisir des éléments qui, au premier abord, semblent familiers, mais qui tissent pourtant des liens avec un sens différent de ce vers quoi ils semblent tendre. Un ensemble de possibles que seule l’image nous permet de voir.

La photographie donne un aspect particulier à cela car elle part du monde visible. Elle permet à ces « points fixes » de se transformer en matériau de l’imaginaire. Cela nous ramène à la question de « l’invisible » en photographie, ce que l’on trouve au-delà, ce qui est indiscernable et pourtant présent.

Les entités avec lesquelles je travaille, sont toujours changeantes et en cours de transformation, il n’y a donc pas une façon unique de les présenter. Pour mes différentes expositions, j’ajoute chaque fois de nouvelles pièces et en laisse d’autres de côté. L’essentiel est de comprendre comment les images s’orchestrent les unes par rapport aux autres, comment elles influent les unes sur les autres quand elles sont disposées dans l’espace d’exposition.



Anni Leppälä

 

Artiste présentée par Jyrki Parantainen.

Exposition présentée à l’Atelier de Mécanique, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.