logo
fr en
close post
4 August 2009

Duane Michals, The once and always now

‘When you look at my photographs, you are looking at my thoughts’. These words are the key to interpreting the entire oeuvre of Duane Michals. An oeuvre that matches his living philosophy—a rare thing among artists. Fifty years ago, when he was starting out, this sentence was already the basis of images that aimed to shake up the axioms of photographic language in order to revolutionizes form and content.

His personality—an acute sensibility, far removed from the commonplace— compelled him since the very beginning to look through the surface of things, beyond photographable reality, in order to capture the essence of our existence: ‘I believe in the imagination. What I cannot see is infinitely more important than what I can see’. It was on the content that he carried out his first revolution: Michals distanced himself from photography as a visual-memory tool or as a narrative of facts. What cannot be seen, what remains closed up, became the subject of his investigations.

Given the complexity and delicacy of his work’s content, it was inevitable that Michals should invent new forms of expression. Cue his second revolution: sequences and photo-texts. With the former, Michals questions the sacred status of the single image by constructing photo-stories with several pictures, thus challenging the self-containment and self-sufficiency of the solitary still image. Moreover, with the works in which he incorporates texts of varying length, in meticulous handwritten script, he rejects the conviction that a photo says more than a thousand words—an idea cherished by traditional photographers of his era.

Michals came into conflict with the common places around him, but continued, unperturbed, to pursue his creativity, which far exceeds the habits of the art world. This is echoed by the diatribe-like quality of one of his most recent exhibitions (On Contemporary Art, 2001): a series that revisits the works of highly-rated artists by parodying their images and by satirical texts in which the ‘official’ voice of art critics lauds their creativity in codified language. Through this series—a clear statement on contemporary art, or, rather, on its market’s vice and treachery—Michals emphasises this message: ‘Never try to be an artist. Just do your work. If the work is true, it will become art’.

He has never lacked courage, as evidenced by the themes addressed throughout his career. With a language that cuts to the quick, he tackles mystical themes and also other, more existential ones, such as the exploration of life and death, which is always imagined as a transformation, and of time too: ‘As soon as I say now, it becomes then’. Other topics often considered relate to the human condition in society: racism, female emancipation, homosexuality and war, among others.

In parallel to his personal investigations, Michals has continued his commercial work for magazines such as Vogue, Esquire and Scientific American. His speciality is the portrait, which here too is distinguished by relentlessly innovative creativity. He has photographed many figures in the worlds of culture and show business.

Michals is an artist who continually pushes back his own limits in the search for new kinds of expression. He is bursting with energy and, well into his seventies, he is continuing to spit out uncommon ideas, such as his latest colour pictures (2006-2008) inspired by Japanese iconography.

The secret of this fascinating man perhaps lies in the fact that he carries himself with the joy and lightness of a young boy, but views the world with the full awareness of an old wise man.


Enrica Viganò, April 2009.

With the collaboration of the Pace/MacGill Gallery, New York; Loan by the Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris and The Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris.

Framing by Circad, Paris.

Duane Michals work was exhibited at the Rencontres d’Arles in 1976. He came back in 1988 to run a workshop.




Exhibition venue: Palais de l’Archevêché, Rencontres d’Arles 2009.

logo
fr en
close post
4 août 2009

Duane Michals, The once and always now*

«Lorsque vous regardez mes photographies, vous regardez mes pensées.» Cette phrase contient la clef de lecture de l’oeuvre entière de Duane Michals : une oeuvre qui correspond, comme c’est le cas pour peu d’auteurs, avec sa philosophie de vie. Il y a cinquante ans, à l’époque de ses débuts, cette phrase était déjà à la base d’images destinées à tirer de leurs gonds les axiomes du langage photographique, pour en révolutionner la forme et le contenu.

Il est certain que sa personnalité, très sensible et éloignée des lieux communs, lui impose dès le départ de dépasser la surface des choses, d’aller au-delà de la réalité photographiable, pour atteindre l’essence de notre existence : «Je crois en l’imagination. Ce que je ne peux voir est infiniment plus important que ce que je vois.» C’est donc sur le contenu qu’il accomplit sa première révolution : Michals s’éloigne d’une photographie comme outil de lamémoire visuelle, comme récit des faits. Ce qui ne peut être vu, ce qui reste enfermé, devient l’objet de son investigation.

Justement à cause de la complexité et de la délicatesse du contenu de ses oeuvres, il est inévitable que Michals s’invente de nouvelles formes d’expression. Voici donc sa deuxième révolution: les séquences et les photo-textes. Avec les premières Michals remet en discussion le sacre de l’image unique en construisant des photo-histoires composées de plusieurs images, ce qui marque une contestation de l’autonomie et de l’autosuffisance de l’image fixe isolée. De plus, avec les oeuvres sur lesquelles il apporte des textes plus ou moins longs, rigoureusement écrits à la main, il refuse la conviction qu’une photo parle plus que mille mots, idée chère à la photographie traditionnelle de son époque.

Michals entrera en conflits avec les lieux communs qui l’entourent, mais il continuera, imperturbable, à suivre sa créativité, qui va bien outre les habitudes du monde de l’art. Une diatribe que l’on retrouve dans un des travaux les plus récents de Duane Michals (On Contemporary Art, 2001): une série qui revisite les oeuvres d’auteurs très cotés, par une parodie des images, et une satire des textes dans lesquels la critique «officielle» déclame dans un langage codifié l’apothéose de leur créativité. À travers cette série, qui représente une prise de position claire sur l’art contemporain, ou plutôt sur les vices et les fourberies de son marché, Michals insiste : «Ne faites pas l’effort d’être un artiste. Faites simplement votre travail. Si c’est authentique, cela deviendra de l’art.»

Le courage ne lui a jamais manqué, et les thèmes qu’il aborde tout au long de sa carrière en sont une preuve. Par le biais d’un langage qui va à l’essentiel il affronte des thématiques mystiques, auxquelles s’ajoutent d’autres plus existentielles, comme les interrogations sur la vie et la mort, toujours imaginée comme étant une transformation, ou sur le temps: «Dès lors que je dis “maintenant”, cela devient aussitôt “avant”.» Sont également souvent présents des sujets liés à la condition humaine dans la société, comme le racisme, l’émancipation de la femme, l’homosexualité et la guerre.

Parallèlement à ses recherches, Michals continue son travail commercial pour des revues telles que Vogue, Esquire et Scientific American. Sa spécialité est le portrait, caractérisé là aussi par une créativité continuellement innovante, grâce à laquelle il a photographié de nombreuses personnalités du monde culturel et du spectacle.

Michals est un artiste qui dépasse continuellement ses propres limites à la recherche de nouveaux modes d’expression, il est un volcan intarissable qui, à 70 ans, continue de cracher des idées hors du commun, comme les dernières images en couleurs (2006-2008) inspirée de l’iconographie japonaise.

Un homme fascinant dont le secret réside, peut-être, dans le fait qu’il évolue avec la légèreté et l’allégresse d’un jeune garçon, mais qu’il regarde le monde avec la pleine conscience d’un vieux sage.

Enrica Viganò, avril 2009.


*L’Unique et Toujours Maintenant

Avec la collaboration active de la galerie Pace/MacGill, New York .

Prêts de la Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris et du musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris.

Encadrements réalisés par Circad, Paris.



Exposition présentée au Palais de l’Archevêché, Rencontres d’Arles 2009.