logo
fr en
close post
14 August 2010

The SFR Young Talent Exhibition, 2010

PHOTOGRAPHY AND THE REVELATION OF EMOTION

Sponsor for this 4th edition of the SFR Young Photo Talent exhibition is Spanish photographer Isabel Muñoz, and the theme—Photography and the Revelation of Emotion—reflects the quest behind her own work: big, varied subjects with the accent always on the feelings. Every one of the photographs here, many of them with a dual meaning, lays bare the depths of the subject’s soul.

From the conceptual to reportage, from faces to landscapes, each of the 8 photographers on show follows this dual-mirror path, this revelation to the viewer of their own personalities and those of their subjects.

Works by François-Régis Durand, Rodrigo Albert, Anaiz Ito, Cetrobo.com, Lucia Herrero, Beata Szparagowska, Virginie Maillard, Mathieu Grac—SFR Young Photo Talent winners—accompanied by a selection of photos by Isabel Muñoz.

François-Régis DURAND

Grand Prize winner, SFR Young Photo Talent 2010

Prizewinner SFR Young Photo Talent/Rencontres d’Arles 2010

Born in Paris in 1961, lives in Paris.

MADAGASCAR.

François-Régis Durand’s photoreportage from Madagascar radiates deep humanism, poetry and emotion. An emotion generated and foregrounded by framing that unfailingly highlights poignant looks and gestures, and by a use of colour and texture that recreates for the viewer the real, intimate, daily life of the island’s inhabitants: time drifting by dust ever-present perspiration

‘The masterly skill of his framing calls into play an astonishingly modern light and shade that constantly reveals gazes crossing with gazes within his images His remarkably profound sense of colour almost gives the sharpness of 3D, but without resort to special effects. Without any ‘avatar’.Absolutely true to life, François-Régis Durand makes his authentic emotional generosity the spontaneous reflector of his photographic message.’

Alain Mingam

Self-taught, François-Régis Durand was first drawn to photography as a child, falling under the spell of books of images that revealed a fascinating world and pointed the way down the path he would ultimately follow.


Lucia HERRERO

Prizewinner SFR Young Photo Talent/Rencontres d’Arles 2010

Born in 1976 in Madrid. Lives in Anglet.

TRIBES

‘The beach tribe came to me as an anthropol­ogical revelation. Groups of friends and families there by the water’s edge, with all the equipment needed for a day in the sun: parasols, towels, cool boxes, spades and so on. And the kids, the dog, the grandmother and so on. All perfectly arranged in space.The photographs were taken using the old studio portrait model, with the tribe shown posed around its utensils for anthropological purposes.The sky and the sea look like a painted backdrop, and you’d almost believe that the sand has been spread just for the shot. The outcome triggers a sense of nostalgia for a kind of photography that no longer exists.’

With training in architecture, photography and physical theatre, Lucia Herrero practices a form of social analysis aimed at making the normal exceptional.


Exhibition venue: couvent Saint-Césaire, Rencontres d’Arles 2010.

logo
fr en
close post
14 août 2010

Exposition SFR Jeunes Talents 2010

LA PHOTOGRAPHIE, « LE REVELATEUR » DE SENTIMENTS

Pour cette 4e édition, la photographe espagnole Isabel Muñoz est la marraine de l’exposition SFR Jeunes Talents. La thématique, « La Photographie, le “révélateur” de sentiments », reflète d’ailleurs la quête de son travail photographique : des thèmes larges et variés mais toujours centrés sur l’émotion. Chaque photographie, souvent à double lecture, dévoile l’âme profonde du sujet abordé.

Entre photographie plasticienne et photoreportage, visages et paysages, chacun des 8 photographes ici exposés suit cette voie du double miroir, de leur propre personnalité et du sujet photographié, que chaque photo révèle au spectateur.

Oeuvres de François-Régis Durand, Rodrigo Albert, Anaiz Ito, Cetrobo.com, Lucia Herrero, Beata Szparagowska, Virginie Maillard, Mathieu Grac

– lauréats SFR Jeunes Talents Photo –, accompagnées d’une sélection de photographies d’Isabel Muñoz.


François-Régis DURAND

Lauréat du Grand Prix SFR Jeunes Talents Photo 2010

et du Prix SFR Jeunes Talents Photo / Rencontres d’Arles 2010.

Né en 1961 à Paris, France. Vit à Paris.

MADAGASCAR.

Dans le domaine du photoreportage.

François-Régis Durand propose une série réalisée à Madagascar qui fait rayonner un profond humanisme, la poésie et l’émotion. Émotion suscitée et mise en exergue via un cadrage qui souligne, à tout moment, des regards et des gestuelles poignants, et via une chromie et une texture restituant au spectateur la vie intime, réelle et quotidienne des habitants de l’île : avec le temps qui s’écoule doucement la poussière la transpiration qui y est toujours présente

La maîtrise remarquable de ses cadrages met en valeur un jeu d’ombres et de lumière, surprenant par sa modernité pour toujours révéler à l’intérieur de ses images des lignes de regards croisés. [] Son sens de la chromie, d’une rare épaisseur, donne comme l’acuité d’une vision en 3D, sans effets spéciaux. Sans “avatar”, en photographie. Plus vrai que nature, François-Régis Durand fait de son authentique générosité de cur la cimaise spontanée de son propos photographique.

Alain Mingam

La photographie attire François-Régis Durand, autodidacte,dès son enfance à travers des livres dont les images

l’envoûtaient, en lui faisant voir un monde fascinant et lui dévoilant finalement une voie qu’il désirait et allait suivre


Lucia HERRERO

Lauréate du Prix SFR Jeunes Talents Photo / Rencontres d’Arles 2010.

Née en 1976 à Madrid, Espagne. Vit à Anglet.

TRIBUS

La tribu de plage m’est apparue comme une révélation anthropologique. Des groupes d’amis ou de familles installés au bord de l’eau, équipés de tout le nécessaire pour passer une journée au soleil?: parasols, serviettes, glacières, pelles, les enfants, le chien, la grand-mère Tout cela parfaitement composé dans l’espace.Les photographies sont prises sur le modèle des anciens portraits en studio, où la tribu, à des fins anthropologiques, pose entourée de ses ustensiles. Le ciel et la mer apparaissent comme un fond peint, le sable laisse presque imaginer qu’il a été répandu pour la pose, un rendu final qui éveille un sentiment de nostalgie à l’égard d’une photo qui n’existe plus

Lucia Herrero

Avec une formation artistique en architecture, en photographie et en théâtre physique, Lucia Herrero porte son travail sur l’analyse sociale et vise à élever la normalité à l’état d’exception.




Exposition présentée au couvent Saint-Césaire, Rencontres d’Arles 2010.