logo
fr en
close post
17 August 2008

Jeffrey Silverthorne, Rencontres d’Arles 2008

An American artist little known in Europe, Jeffrey Silverthorne has for nearly forty years been considering the body and its representation. His photography, whether in black-and-white or colour, borrows from both documentary and staging techniques with a fluent, exuberant feel for investigation. He tirelessly explores the particular way in which photography can play at once with reality and fiction.

In his photographs of dead people at the morgue, the Female Impersonators, or in his other portraits, he indeed borrows from documentary formalism; he sees himself as a witness. But like Diane Arbus – whose work he admires and whom he knows and feels close to – they convey an ambiguous, unsettling sense that you know and recognise them without really understanding what there is to feel beyond the subject itself, or who it is showing us the picture. Fiction and reality entwine, enigmatically and mysteriously.

This same taste for strangeness informs the set pieces abounding with mythological, biblical, pictorial and photographic references, in which the artist readily exhibits himself. The Silent Fires series openly displays the artificiality of the compositions: a canvas backdrop is stretched, the bodies and objects seem to be coated with paint, and the lighting contributes to the fantastical quality of the scene.

The startling and undatable use of colour in his portraits and staged works underscores their ambiguity; they disconcert the spectator’s eye.


Exhibition staged in collaboration with Lars Schwander and the Fografisk Center, Copenhagen.

Exhibition venue: Capitole, Rencontres d’Arles 2008.

logo
fr en
close post
17 août 2008

Jeffrey Silverthorne, Rencontres d’Arles 2008

Voilà près de quarante ans que l’Américain Jeffrey Silverthorne, méconnu en Europe, décline la question du corps et de sa représentation. Sa photographie, noir et blanc ou couleur, emprunte à la fois au documentaire et à la mise en scène, avec une aisance, une recherche jubilatoire, continuant inlassablement d’explorer, de s’interroger sur la façon particulière qu’a la photographie de jouer sur les deux tableaux, du réel et de la fiction.

Dans sa façon de photographier les morts à la morgue, les Female Impersonators, ou ses autres portraits, il emprunte certes au formalisme documentaire – il se considère comme un témoin – mais, comme pour Diane Arbus dont il admire le travail, qu’il a connue et dont il s’est senti proche, il se dégage ce sentiment ambigu, déroutant, de connaître et reconnaître sans qu’on sache vraiment quoi, et qui donne à voir, à sentir au-delà du sujet lui-même. Des images où fiction et réel se mêlent, énigmatiques et mystérieuses.

C’est ce même goût de l’étrange qui anime les mises en scène aux nombreuses références mythologiques, bibliques, picturales et photographiques où l’artiste s’exhibe volontiers. La série Silent Fires affiche ouvertement l’artificialité des compositions : une toile de fond est tendue, les corps et les objets sont comme enduits de peinture et les lumières contribuent au fantastique de la scène. L’utilisation de la couleur, surprenante et indatable, de ses portraits ou mises en scène, renforce l’ambiguïté de ces images qui jettent le trouble dans le regard du spectateur.



Exposition réalisée en collaboration avec Lars Schwander et le Fografisk Center de Copenhague.

Exposition présentée au Capitole, Rencontres d’Arles 2008.