logo
fr en
close post
21 August 2012

The Jan Mulder collection, An insight into Latin American photography

The Jan Mulder Photography Collection from Lima, Peru, started in 2002 as an adventure in the realm of visual creation in the medium, in all its diversity. Further motivation came from the successful initiative of establishing a center for the teaching and promotion of photography as art in Peru. The outlook has been consistenly international all along, with a keen eye on both contemporary and vintage works.


This exhibition comprises a selection of works by Latin American authors from the collection. In bringing them together, the aim has been to depict the vigorous—and young—photographic production from the region, and to succintly pinpoint the riches in the way of practices that characterize it. Analogue photography has its staunch practitioners and is still the source of outstanding images and prints. Digital tools have enriched the creative approach to latter-day image processing, affording photographers an added degree of involvement in the printing process.

Works have been chosen with particular attention to a spirit of elated rediscovery of time and place, that guides the collection almost from the moment it started. It showcases works of renowned Latin American artists and alternates them freely with works by promising young talents.

As will be evident to visitors, its outlook is far from being attuned to depictions associated with images recognizably related to news and political reportage.

It is more intent on embracing art proposals emanating from recent uses of documentary style, as well as enigmatic portraiture, and the possible allegorical character of image-archive constructions. The exhibition takes this perspective, and further enhances it with the inclusion of striking vintage works by authors from the history of Latin American photography in the collection.


The selection favours an appraisal of Peruvian photography, little known in either the contemporary or the historical plane. It is, nevertheless, one of the most solid traditions in Latin America.


Jorge Villacorta



Exhibition venue: Palais de l’Archevêché, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
21 août 2012

La collection de Jan Mulder, Panorama de la photographie Latino-Américaine

La collection de photographies Jan Mulder à Lima, au Pérou, a débuté en 2002 comme une aventure dans le domaine de la création visuelle à partir de ce médium, représenté dans toute sa diversité. Par la suite, la fondation d’un centre d’enseignement et de promotion de la photographie d’art au Pérou a constitué une motivation supplémentaire. Le point de vue adopté a toujours été international, ouvert aux oeuvres contemporaines comme aux tirages historiques. 

Cette exposition présente plusieurs oeuvres réalisées par des auteurs latino-américains de la collection. À travers cette sélection, l’objectif était de mettre en valeur le dynamisme de la jeune production photographique de la région, et de révéler la richesse des pratiques qui la caractérisent. Source d’images et de tirages magnifiques, la photographie argentique compte toujours de fidèles partisans. Quant aux outils numériques, ils ont enrichi l’approche créative du traitement des images, en offrant aux photographes actuels un degré d’intervention plus large au cours du processus du tirage.

Les travaux ont été choisis dans l’intention de célébrer un esprit de redécouverte du temps et de l’espace, qui guide la collection pratiquement depuis sa création. Les oeuvres de célèbres photographes du continent y côtoient celles de jeunes talents prometteurs.


Comme les visiteurs le noteront, le résultat s’éloigne radicalement des représentations liées aux images d’actualités ou au reportage politique.

Le projet vise plutôt à embrasser des propositions artistiques dérivées des usages récents du style documentaire, sans oublier les mystères du portrait et le caractère potentiellement allégorique des constructions à partir d’images d’archives. C’est la perspective mise en exergue dans cette exposition, que rehausse la présence de chefs-d’oeuvre de la collection, associés à de grands noms de l’histoire de la photographie en Amérique latine.

La sélection permet par ailleurs de mieux apprécier la photographie péruvienne, peu connue dans le champ historique aussi bien que contemporain, alors qu’elle représente une des plus solides traditions photographiques en Amérique latine.

Jorge Villacorta


Exposition présentée au Palais de l’Archevêché, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.