logo
fr en
close post
21 August 2012

Marina Gadonneix, Ceci n’est pas un exercice*

Marina Gadonneix’s work weaves a complex link between documentary and fiction through photographs of places given over to temporary neglect. In each of the series presented here, the artist explores the startling transition of a rugged territory to a fantastical image, of a form of evidence of reality to its most metaphorical mental construction.

Landscapes presents a series of singular images: matte shooting stages, sometimes blue, sometimes green, used as neutral backgrounds for special effects in film and television. Monochrome surfaces, a range of saturated colours. The captions of these screens, both empty and full, conjure up landscapes as far away as they are interchangeable, free of all definitive interpretation. And it is no accident that the piece presented here was realised in collaboration with the artist Marcelline Delbecq, who took possession of it to write Blackout. Between fiction and reality, real landscapes and mental landscapes, visions and drifting, the text, in its written or recorded form, may either add to or subtract from the images.

The House That Burns Everyday recalls a fable whose story, in ashes, would no longer reach us. Marina Gadonneix has chosen to haunt a dummy house used by firemen to become familiar with fire and fighting it. In short, a room of fiction. Fire has raged, soon it will flare up again. In this interstice, Gadonneix collects these artificial ruins. From a distance, the spectator can cope with the worst. The worst, in this work, is always yet to come.

With Playground Disorder, the organisation of the images is noticeably different. The places are no longer banal. They’re training grounds for the catastrophes that terrorise our everyday existence: fires, planes taken hostage. Playful and yet threatening images. Although something disturbing occurs, its cause nevertheless remains hidden. All we can make out is smoke, a leitmotif found in all the photographs. Confronted with this element, we can’t help seeing the distress signal fire of a world on the road to ruin.

 

Amaury da Cunha

 

* Ceci n’est pas un exercice: This is not an Exercise

 

Exhibition venue: Forges, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.

logo
fr en
close post
21 août 2012

Marina Gadonneix, Ceci n’est pas un exercice

Le travail de Marina Gadonneix tisse un lien complexe entre documentaire et fiction à travers les photographies de lieux livrés à un abandon provisoire. Dans chacune des séries ici présentées, l’artiste explore ce passage inattendu d’un territoire rugueux à une image fantasmatique, d’une forme d’évidence du réel à sa construction mentale la plus métaphorique.

Landscapes présente une série d’images singulières. Plateaux d’incrustation tantôts bleus ou verts utilisés comme fond neutre pour les effets spéciaux du cinéma et de la télévision. Surfaces monochromes, déclinaison de couleurs saturées. Ces images-écrans à la fois vides et pleines ont pour légendes des évocations de paysages aussi lointains qu’interchangeables, libres de toute interprétation définitive. Et ce n’est pas un hasard si la pièce présentée ici est réalisée en collaboration avec l’artiste Marcelline Delbecq qui s’en est emparé pour écrire Blackout. Entre fiction et réalité, paysages réels et mentaux, visions et dérives. Le texte, sous forme écrite et enregistré, peut lui même s’ajouter ou se soustraire aux images.

La maison qui brûle tous les jours rappelle une fable dont l’histoire, en cendre, ne parviendrait plus jusqu’à nous. Marina Gadonneix a choisi de hanter une maison factice utilisée pour que les pompiers puissent se familiariser avec le feu. Une chambre de fiction, en somme. Le feu a sévi, bientôt il va reprendre. Dans cet interstice, elle recueille ces ruines artificielles. À distance, le spectateur peut supporter le pire. Le pire, dans ce travail, est toujours à venir.

Avec Playground Disorder, l’ordonnancement des images est sensiblement différent. Les lieux ne sont pas anodins, il s’agit de terrains d’entraînement aux catastrophes qui terrorisent notre quotidien ; incendies, avions pris en otage. Images ludiques et pourtant menaçantes. Si quelque chose d’inquiétant se passe, sa cause est néanmoins voilée. On ne distingue qu’une fumée, leitmotiv qui traverse l’ensemble des photographies et face à laquelle on ne peut s’empêcher de voir le feu de détresse d’un monde qui court à sa perte.

 

Amaury da Cunha.

 

Exposition présentée aux Forges, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2012.