logo
fr en
close post
20 August 2009

Roni Horn, Rencontres d’Arles 2009

For the 40th edition of the festival the LUMA Foundation is coproducing an exhibition in the Grande Halle of work by American artist Roni Horn, in collaboration with the Collection Lambert in Avignon.

 

In the context of the Rencontres d’Arles, the LUMA Foundation presents an exhibition by Roni Horn. Works shown include a.k.a. (2008-2009), Becoming a Landscape (1999-2001), Doubt by Water (2003-2004) and Portrait of an Image (with Isabelle Huppert) (2004-2005).

Roni Horn works in a wide range of media, encompassing photography and drawing, sculpture and writing. Since 1975 she has been travelling to Iceland frequently. Many of her major works are related to this island, such as the book series To Place, the photographic installations Doubt by Water, Becoming a Landscape, Pi and You are the Weather. Roni Horn has had major solo exhibitions at many of the most important institutions in Europe and America: from the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles in 1990, through a two-part exhibition at the Dia Center for the Arts, New York, in 2001 and 2002, to most recently Roni Horn aka Roni Horn at Tate Modern, London and subsequently at Collection Lambert, Avignon, the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, and the Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston. The numerous important group exhibitions in which she has participated include the Whitney Biennial exhibitions in 1991 and 2004, Documenta IX in 1992 and the 1997 Venice Biennale. She has worked on artist’s books throughout her career, including the multi-volume To Place.

a.k.a. is Roni Horn’s most recently completed photographic installation. It continues a line of portraiture that Horn has been developing over the years in the larger context of her oeuvre. These portraits, marked by her interest in the plural nature of identity, include You are the Weather (1994-95), one hundred photographs of the face of a woman collected during their travels around Iceland, This is Me, This is You (1999-2000), an installation of paired photographic grids of images of a young girl, and Portrait of an Image (with Isabelle Huppert) (2004-2005), for which Horn asked the actress to impersonate herself in some of her film roles. In each of these works the viewer is implicated as a second subject.

Portraiture and doubling have been recurrent motifs in Horn’s work for many years and a.k.a. is the latest manifestation of these interests. Completed in 2009, this work consists of fifteen paired images reproducing collected vintage photographs apparently taken over many decades.



Exhibition venue: Grande Halle, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2009.

logo
fr en
close post
20 août 2009

Roni Horn, Rencontres d’Arles 2009

À l’occasion du 40e festival des Rencontres, la Fondation LUMA coproduit l’exposition de Roni Horn constituée d’une série de photographies inédites qui sera présentée au coeur de la Grande Halle. Cette exposition est le fruit d’un projet commun imaginé par la Fondation LUMA et la collection Lambert en Avignon.



Dans le cadre des Rencontres d’Arles, la Fondation LUMA a le plaisir de présenter une exposition de Roni Horn. Les oeuvres exposées comprennent a.k.a. (2008-2009), Becoming a Landscape (1999-2001), Doubt by Water (2003-2004) et Portrait of an Image (with Isabelle Huppert) (2004-2005).

Le travail de Roni Horn se manifeste sous de nombreuses formes, de la photographie au dessin, en passant par la sculpture et le texte. Depuis 1975, elle se rend fréquemment en Islande. Ses oeuvres majeures se rapportent le plus souvent à cette île, comme la série de livres To Place ou les installations photographiques Doubt by Water, Becoming a Landscape, Picture of an Image ou You are the Weather.

Horn a exposé dans de nombreuses institutions parmi les plus importantes en Europe et aux États-Unis : du Musée d’art contemporain de Los Angeles en 1990 à une exposition en deux parties à la Dia Center for the Arts à New York en 2001 et 2002, en passant par le Tate Modern de Londres pour sa rétrospective récente, Roni Horn aka Roni Horn, exposée par la suite à la Collection Lambert d’Avignon, ainsi que le Whitney Museum of American Art (New York) et l’Institute of Contemporary Art (Boston). Parmi les nombreuses expositions collectives auxquelles elle a participé, on retrouve la Biennale de Whitney en 1991 et 2004, Documenta IX en 1992 et la Biennale de Venise en 1997. Elle a publié des livres d’artiste durant toute sa carrière, notamment l’ouvrage en plusieurs volumes To Place. a.k.a., l’installation photographique la plus récente de Roni Horn, poursuit l’approche du portrait que l’artiste développe depuis des années dans l’ensemble de son oeuvre. Ces portraits, caractérisés par son intérêt pour la nature plurielle de l’identité, comprennent You are the Weather (1994-95), une série de cent photographies du visage d’une femme prises durant un voyage en Islande, This is Me, This is You (1999-2000), une installation de grilles photographiques d’images doubles d’une jeune fille, et Portrait of an Image (with Isabelle Huppert) (2004-2005) pour lequel Horn a demandé à l’actrice de personnifier certains de ses rôles au cinéma. Dans chacune de ces oeuvres, le spectateur est impliqué en tant que second sujet.

Le portrait et le double sont des motifs récurrents dans le travail de Horn depuis des années et représente l’expression la plus récente de ces idées. Complétée en 2009, cette oeuvre comporte quinze images par paires, qui reproduisent une collection de photographies de plusieurs époques, apparemment prises sur plusieurs décennies.



Exposition présentée à la Grande Halle, Parc des Ateliers, Rencontres d’Arles 2009.